Lessons in Parenting

The Top Characteristics of Being a Wonderful Parent

You May Not Have These Skills, But You Can

Mai Provencio, LCSW
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
9 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Being a great parent isn’t as difficult as it seems. Photo by RDNE Stock project via Pexels

People often ask me who my most difficult clients are in my profession. They always think I’m going to tell them about some young kid who doesn’t listen and is completely disrespectful. Or they think I’m going to tell them a story about some sociopath or someone with a split personality.

That’s not my answer. In my 20+ years of working with kids, I’ve only met one kid who was disrespectful even though I remained respectful. It’s also part of my job to work with kids who have problems listening. Regarding personality disorders, I refer those to other more qualified therapists.

The most difficult clients I work with are parents. I have gone rounds with parents when it comes to their kids. I have fought against them in courts and had to humble many of them. It’s not an enjoyable experience.

When I meet great parents, I absolutely love them and appreciate them. Unfortunately, I have met way too many prideful parents who become defensive and want to blame their child for everything or use them as a pawn.

I’ve had men try to intimidate me by yelling at me multiple times. I’ve had someone throw their Treatment Plan at my face. I’ve…

--

--

Mai Provencio, LCSW
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I am the Humorous Jack-Buddhist Therapist. 3x Top Writer in Mental Health and Advice.