The Unethical Vegan

Elektra Porter
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readNov 13, 2022
Both Photos: Pixabay

If you ask people why they decided to go vegan, the majority will answer because of the maltreatment/exploitation of animals. That makes sense. I did the same.

Due to painful life experiences involving humans, many people have turned their back on them. Having a history of trauma and abuse myself, I really do understand that. I really do. Where human beings are hurting, animals are healing.
Animals are in some sense like babies: helpless and without a voice.

What’s the point? The point is that no matter how devastating our life experiences with the human race have been, going vegan or using veganism in order to hate upon or fuel hatred towards human beings is simply one thing: It’s unethical!

The welfare of animals, raising awareness around the detrimental impact of mindless consumerism, and animal abuse, in general, are in focus when it comes to veganism.

However, being vegan is so much more. Following a vegan lifestyle also means caring for the planet, and the environment, and this includes caring about our fellow humans as well. Everything is deeply intertwined.

If you (want to) work in the animal helping industry, for example, you ultimately need to deal with the owner of the animals. You cannot completely avoid these interactions. But that’s also where you can use your voice and knowledge in a guiding way.

Food for Thought

Where and why am I conscious about the suffering of animals and blind to the suffering of humans?

Where are the ethics if I buy vegan labeled clothing/products from companies who are not able/not willing to provide transparency about the production site/labor conditions and/or the origin of the materials used?

Is it necessary to adopt an “imported” animal or could I have a look at a local animal sanctuary first?

Where do I support animal welfare at the cost of human welfare or vice versa?

Am I vegan because it is trending or because I actively want to implement positive change in my life and in the world at large?

Do I use veganism in an attempt to escape my pain or try to process my pain (e.g. black and white thinking, helper syndrome, the need to be needed, trauma)?

Here is an Example for the last question:
My former friend has a similar trauma history to me and when she went vegan she was numb as a result of non-processed pain. She and a couple of others participated as volunteers for a movie where they were shown a documentary about animal abuse and being filmed while watching.

What she did not understand was that she unconsciously used the pain of the animals in order to process her own pain thus finding relief from all that was stored inside her. This is a masochistic way of processing pain.

One can think about these types of “projects” in many different ways. I myself decided that I do not need to expose myself to such material. First of all, I have seen enough in the past and I consider it a form of self-harm if I continuously expose myself to situations, people, or material that I know is triggering me.

I do not need to force myself to watch or read certain material in order to be an approved vegan by others.

Side Note
It is always helpful to do some research about companies and organizations especially if you consider signing up or contributing via money or your voice. Make sure that they represent your values and ethics. There are well-known organizations but that does not mean that “all is well” with regard to how they operate.

Happy Sunday!

--

--