The Worst Mistake You Are Making On Medium Every Day

Carl Jeffers
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readJan 28, 2024

--

Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

If you, like me, are writing on Medium every day you will be doing this and it is doing nothing to help you.

There are many things that you could be doing that are negatively impacting your journey but this one I know we all are guilty of.

So what is this dreaded mistake?

Checking Stats

No, don’t look away and pretend you don’t do it. We all do it. I am obsessed with it, like a damn stat junkie.

And yet it does nothing for me, it doesn’t give me intelligence, it doesn’t earn me money and it doesn’t help me relax. It is useless. Also, don’t bother pretending that you analyse your stats to try and get out of it, you do not analyse your stats stop talking out your backside.

(P.S. I analyse my stats).

Yes, it can be interesting and tempting to go and look at your stats every 5 minutes but how does it honestly help you? I fall victim to this and I spend so long checking my stats that I reckon I spend close to 20 minutes a day on my stat page.

Just looking at numbers. Numbers that, let’s face it, none of us know what they mean. Yeah, high number equals good, we think, like cavemen. Checking our stats though, in reality, does nothing to help us.

--

--