Things That Disappear When Power is Out in 75% of Your City

Or, why we’re screwed if the zombie apocalypse happens

Molly Miller
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Andrey Metelev on Unsplash

Long time, no see, Medium. I’ve been very off my writing routine lately, but I swear I have a good reason: my city currently looks like it is experiencing a zombie apocalypse.

I wish I was kidding, but the thing about Oklahoma is that it’s flat. Like, exceedingly flat. So we get this super fun thing called straight-line winds sometimes, which means that we have to worry about hurricane-force winds pummeling our city in addition to worrying about normal tornadoes [insert Jake Peralta-style coolcoolcoolcoolcool here].

On Saturday night, we got hit by a derecho with 100-mph straight-line winds, or the equivalent of a category 2 hurricane in the middle of Oklahoma. Pretty much everyone I knew lost power, with the exception of my mom and grandma, but I definitely didn’t realize just how bad it was until I woke up the next day.

Over 250 electric lines and poles were either damaged or fully knocked down. People had trees on their houses and cars. I’m not talking about little trees, either. I’m talking about BIG trees that had been around for decades, if not longer.

Still, I tried to be optimistic in thinking that it would surely only be a few hours until…

--

--

Molly Miller
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Public health practitioner| Former educator| Multi-passionate| Open to freelance writing opportunities - mollymillerfreelance@gmail.com