To Eat or Not to Eat? My Review of the Chocolate Mousse at The Chocolate Room.

Words From A Dot
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readSep 7, 2022
Photo by Ana Azevedo on Unsplash

This review will be ranked on a 3-star review. Price/quality and quantity.

It’s thick, it’s sweet and it’s succulent. Let me introduce to you a fine confectionery. The chocolate mousse cake at the chocolate room in cobble hill NYC is a premium chocolatier with the prices to show for it.

Quality.

The cake is covered with a thick chocolate crust with a chocolate slab on top. Once you pierce through the milk chocolate shell you reach the luscious mousse. I need a minute to talk (gush) about this mousse. It's light, it's airy, it lingers on your tongue like a tease and regretfully melts away as you can’t help but smack your lips and swallow it down. But don’t do that.

I am an experienced chocolate mousse eater and I am now smart enough to know how this delectable treat should be savored. Pierce your folk through the thick chocolate shell and use that crust as a spoon to scoop up the mousse. The chocolate sauce that is sprinkled atop the shell is a sharp and wonderful accompaniment to the subdued sweetness of the mousse. The light and heavy combine into a combustible burst of sweetness and flavors in your mouth. It can make you swoon a bit. (I do)

Once you get through all this lusciousness you reach a pinch of gooey caramel. I really like this caramel. It’s a very nice touch that almost tricks you into thinking well I can’t possibly eat anything sweeter, but oh you can. Because this is just a pinch, it’s a perfect fold for the thick hard lava cake that my guy Brian will usually sprinkle some chocolate sauce under to create a solid and satisfying piece of chocolate cake serving.

For quality, this gets 1 star.

Quantity and price.

You get a pretty decent amount of goodness with this treat but to be honest I am mad about the pricing. They used to price this at a decent $10 and increased this to $13 in the last 6 months. (This acted as my leading indicator for inflation getting worse.) I wouldn’t pay $13 to sample this. I think $11-$12 would have been a happy balance. At $13 this tempers my desire to sample this more often (which probably is a good thing), and this makes me mad.

They’ve also become stingier with the chocolate sauce, something I don’t appreciate as well which is why I only visit over the weekend when Brian works. So for quantity, I give it 1 star, for the price I take away ½. At a solid 2.5 stars, you can’t go wrong. If you ever try it let me know!

Pictures to come soon. Would you like to see reviews of chocolate gone wrong? If so let me know! Those stories do exist!

For more chocolate reviews a tip is appreciated! https://paypal.me/akrushn2?country.x=US&locale.x=en_US

To get access to unlimited stories, you can also consider signing up to become a Medium member for just $5. If you sign up using my link, I’ll receive a small commission (at no extra cost to you)

--

--