We’re Outsourcing Parenting and Volunteering for Corporate Slavery

Have we as a society grossly misplaced our priorities?

--

Generated with AI by author using Bing Copilot

A friend and ex-colleague recently had his first child. I remember the otherworldly feeling when I held our first child in my arms.

I’d only got a 2-week parental leave back then, but for that period, I was inseparable from my wife and our son.

Luckily, when our second was born last year, my former employer had started a full 20-week parental leave for both fathers and mothers.

I took every single day of the leave. Not only was I able to spend the first few months with the newborn, but was also able to support my wife’s post-partum recovery and bond as a family unit.

Given the option, I’d have it no other way.

I was naive enough to think it would be the same for everyone.

I was wrong.

My friend instead was of a very different opinion.

“My plan is simple,” he quipped.

“I’ll take a couple of weeks off and then resume work. I can’t be away from work for such a long time. Can’t let others take credit for picking up my work in my absence.”

--

--

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Stay-at-home-dad who "retired" from a 12-year career in finance at the age of 35. Curious thinker with an opinion on nearly everything and is here to share it.