What Can I Do if My Roommate Is Constantly Making Noise?

How loud do you enjoy your music? When I can’t hear you

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by Dmitry Vechorko on Unsplash

I once had a room all to myself in my college dorm. However, as the saying goes “All good things must come to an end” or so I thought.

I got transferred to another room. And if that wasn’t enough someone else also got transferred to that room. UHmmmm!!!

I waited and waited. All I wanted was to do my workout when no one was watching. What I didn’t want was someone staring at me while I jumped about looking like a fool. I guess that was too much to ask for.

My second day in the room: I woke up not when my alarm clock rang but somewhat early. I laid my bed and pulled up my workout clothes. I pulled up a video, a high-intensity workout to lose weight at home, on my PC. I was about to hit play when I heard a sound. I turned to my left and saw my roommate.
She had her phone in her hand playing a loud video and her face directly at me.

Everyone was asleep but she wasn’t.

After my day out, I head to my desk to get some work done. I hear laughter. I turn to my left. She is on the phone. I could hear the voices of the people on the other end. It was LOUD. I waited and waited. I waited for the call to end but that didn’t end soon.

I sleep at night; I think everyone should. I don’t think she does. It’s 1 am and the lights are still on. She keeps scrolling and scrolling. I can hear the sound. It’s loud, really loud. I waited and waited. I waited for her to fall asleep. She didn’t.

My life would be hell without my headphones.

When I entered the room, straight up I grabbed my headphones.

At my desk, I increased the volume straight up. I can only hear my music playing.

In the morning, I listen to my playlist and pretend as though it’s just me and me.

That seemed to solve the problem. Soon I realized that wasn’t very effective, however. I couldn’t listen to music and sleep. Wearing headphones at that high frequency may cause some damage to my ears.

So I said it.

CAN YOU PLEASE REDUCE THE VOLUME. PLEASE LOWER YOUR VOICE.

I didn’t say it once. I said it over and over again. After a while, she got to know that I don’t like the noise.

At night, I softly say can I put off the light. (#that’s a way of saying, I want to sleep so shut the f*ck up).

However, I learned a lot from that.

· Learn to speak up.

· Tolerance: sometimes she is still a little loud. Good thing I got my headphones. I guess I too do some things that piss her off.

· Confidence: I became more comfortable about certain things, like dancing around like a simp in the hopes of losing weight.

--

--

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a 3rd-year medical student passionate about growth, both personally and professionally. I’m all about continuous improvement and pushing beyond my limits.