SELF REFLECTION | MENTAL HEALTH | PERSONAL GROWTH

What Food Brings You Great Joy When You Eat It?

Day 27 — Journaling for Self-Reflection and Personal Growth.

Jennifer Barrios Tettay
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

created with Craiyon

Sometimes it doesn’t take much to be able to feel pure joy. It’s not for nothing that they say chocolate makes you feel happy!

And yes, I am an absolute food junkie, I LOVE good food!

Iced coffee and pizza!

When it’s 36°C outside, there’s hardly anything better than a cup of the sweet yet slightly bitter delight!

Or imagine making yourself comfortable at home enjoying the weekend. Then the doorbell rings and like a harbinger of the highlight of the week, it announces your pizza! Delivered from your favorite Italian restaurant.

The joyful feeling then increases beyond measure when the smell of the crispy pizza dough and the melted cheese spread in the air….

But the most important thing for me is and remains my breakfast.

That reminds me, Rubaiyat Rahman expressed his interest in German breakfast culture a while back. So Rubaiyat, here you go! I truly hope you enjoy it. 🤍

My Breakfast Is Sacred to Me

foto by author

In the meantime, I have met many people who skip breakfast, for example as part of Intermittent Fasting.

For me, that would be out of the question!

Without breakfast, I am not useful.
Not functional.
ERROR. 💢

Partly responsible for this is the fact that I don’t eat anything after 5 pm. After all, the body needs energy again at some point, right?

But that’s not all.

I enjoy the whole ritual of breakfast itself!

In the Morning I Get Up at 5:10 Am.

🖤 Then I first make breakfast and coffee for my husband.
🤎 After that, I prepare his lunch box for work.
With lots of love, of course! ← That’s important.
💜 Well and then I make breakfast for our son. Brian loves bread dipped in egg first and then fried. So I “cook” pretty early, especially since my husband also eats omelets for breakfast.
💙 After that, I prepare the food box for school.
💚 Meanwhile, my husband leaves the house at 6 am.
💛 I get Brian ready for school. Because of his Down Syndrome, he is still not able to act completely independently — although he is already 13. So whenever he needs help he gets it.
🧡 At 7 am Brian is picked up by the cab that takes him to school.
💝 THEN the house is empty! I start to prepare my breakfast.

By the way, today I had….

scrambled eggs, wholegrain toast with Nutella, skimmed yogurt with blueberries, raspberries as well as mango. I also enjoyed an ice cold Zero energy drink.

That was not so healthy, but that’s because we still have to go shopping and don’t have much at home. 🏳️

Besides, I love energy drinks.

But when it gets colder outside again, I’ll switch back to coffee.

🍳 🥓 Breakfast in All Variations! 🥞 🥐

I still have a few pictures saved from the time when I tracked calories. Enjoy!

foto by author

For a while, I had this every day!

Omelet covered with cream cheese, topped with tomato slices and some poultry, and then rolled up.

Served with yogurt and fruit.
I always have frozen fruit in stock here — it lasts longer and defrosts within a minute in the microwave.

Since the days were a bit colder at the time, I liked to have a cup of coffee with it.

foto by author

This is protein bread spread with cream cheese, topped with an omelet, tomato slices, and prosciutto.

Cream cheese has unfortunately not been an option for me anymore since I developed slight lactose intolerance.

Since my breakfast always made me feel sick, I have completely lost my appetite for cream cheese.

foto by author

Sometimes it may also be vegetarian.

This is again protein bread with cream cheese.

Plus tomato, cucumber, and egg.

True, the poultry in the background is not vegetarian, but I have no idea why that was in the picture anymore!

foto by author

Well, what a breakfast!

That day, in the morning, my stepfather invited me.

That was in the neighboring village. The bakery there runs a small coffee shop alongside and serves super delicious breakfast dishes!

foto by author

This one was just protein bread with cream cheese and reduced sugar raspberry jam.

Plus yogurt with raspberry and blueberry.

The green stuff is chives in the pot. But had nothing to do with the breakfast.

foto by author

This hearty breakfast is rather the exception.

Wholemeal roll with cream cheese, lettuce, egg, tomato, and a fishcake.

In addition, a boiled egg.

❔ What food brings you joy?

Share it in the comments!

This was the 27th entry in the 30-Day Journal for Self-Reflection and Personal Growth — a challenge by Dr. Tracy Davis. Thanks for the idea and the invitation for everyone to join in!

Find all my other entries in the 30-Day Journal for Self-Reflection and Personal Growth:

30-Day Journal for Self-Reflection and Personal Growth

30 stories
painting of a snowy landscape illuminated by light of the rising sun
painting of a silhouette of a woman

Not a member yet?

Membership allows unlimited access — not only to my articles but to the articles of all authors on Medium! Great, right?
Signing up is easy! Just follow the path into a world of infinite knowledge and endless possibilities and sign here for only $5 per month!

--

--