What if I Don’t “Succeed” in Writing?

Roll over and give up or keep writing

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I almost gave up
I felt defeated
I truly believed that writing a book
would take me from a nobody to a somebody

I thought that within my life circumstances,
There had to be a pot of gold
At the end of the rainbow

There had to be a reason for the loss,
I had to share
I had to let it out
I had to find someone,
anyone who resonated with my words

I longed to be seen
I longed to be heard
I wanted to be celebrated

Look at me I’m sober,
Look at me I’ve come through
A hellish childhood and I lived to tell about it

Laugh at my naivety
Gape at my seemingly
Neurotic behavior
Cry with me
When I get knocked down and taken
Advantage of

I had never been so proud.
It was the first thing I had accomplished in my life,
on my own…

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....