What Was Your Top “Mom’s Gonna Kill Me” Moment?

Being a girl child meant you and your mom basically shared everything

Smiang
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

Photo by M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

#All her sweater including the white fluffy large-sized knitted sweater lived rent-free in my closet.

However, there should be some boundaries. Right?

This was one time I forgot there was.

Most 9-year-old girls might sneak into their mom’s room to experiment with makeup, resulting in disastrous purple and orange eyeshadows and lip color that’s just so wrong.

I wasn’t like most 9-year-olds. Yes, I would sneak into my mom’s room, I would open her makeup kit, but not to apply it on my face, I used it for something different.

Growing up, I watched a lot of Barbie cartoons, Barbie and the Diamond Castle, Barbie in the Nutcracker, Barbie as Rapunzel….

You name it. The Barbie characters were so colorful, so glistening, so pretty. (I was 9, give me a break). It wasn’t long before I began sketching black and white Barbie characters on my little sister’s old drawing book.

I was getting better at drawing, however, my drawings missed a key element that my Barbie cartoons had, color.

Unfortunately, I didn’t own any pack of crayons or paint kit at that moment. But being a determined 9-year-old, I wasn’t about to let that stop me.

Spotting an opportunity while my mom was in the kitchen, I sneaked into her room, targeting her makeup kit.

I pulled open her foundation bottle to give my characters some nice skin, and right there the universe decided to punish me for snitching on Julie. The entire bottle emptied itself, creating a puddle of foundation on the bed.

Panicking, I attempted to rub it off, that proved to be a bad idea, however.

Suddenly, I heard my mom’s footsteps — ‘Jenna.’ Looking down at the mess, I contemplated what was worse: spilling all of my mom’s expensive Parisian makeup or staining the new white sheet she got for Christmas.

Oh lord, I am sure I lived a good life right?

--

--

Smiang
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Hi! My name is Smiang. My mantra is "Either write something that's worth reading, or do something that's worth writing about"