What We’re Thinking About

For 4% of the people in the world, when we’re quiet, it’s only on the outside.

Rachel D Adams
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

woman sitting on a bench behind an evergreen tree
Photo by Jonathan Meyer on Unsplash

We were driving down the road to my first visit with the optometrist who would let me know if I had cancer. The hubs was driving, and we’d been talking for a while. The radio was on the classics channel, which is my jam. They were playing songs that were special to me.

The trip between my home and most Duke University Medical facilities is 2 1/2 hours long. Of course, there would be stretches of time without talking much.

But he’s so used to having a constant conversation with me that I suppose getting lost in my own head bothered him. That, and maybe he thought I was dwelling on my upcoming prognosis.

“Hey, you okay over there?” I felt his hand on my thigh as he interrupted the flow of my thoughts to check on me.

“Yeah, just thinking.” I shrugged.

This is a common thing to happen between us. The hubs is the talker. I’m the listener. When I get wound up and talk, it’s usually about something I’m very passionate about. Otherwise, I listen and respond. It’s not just for him, but for many of my friends.

But when I sink into that space wherein I barely even hear the world around me, that’s something else. That’s next-level…

--

--

Rachel D Adams
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

(she/her/pan) I’m not a well-behaved woman. I am an ally, amateur photog, content creator, novelist, empty nester, traveler, wife, & friend.