When Kindness Costs You: My Accidental Donation to A Stranger

charen julianda
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min read1 day ago
Photo by Pepi Stojanovski on Unsplash

It was just another mundane bus ride home, or so I thought. Little did I know this ordinary day would turn into a comedy of errors worthy of a sitcom episode. Here’s the story of how I inadvertently became a modern-day Robin Hood — or at least, a well-meaning but somewhat confused one.

The bus was packed, as usual. I found a seat next to a kind-looking woman who had a gentle smile and a calm demeanor. As I settled in, I noticed something peculiar: a crisp, crumpled bill lying on the seat next to her. My first thought? Jackpot! My second thought? I should do the right thing and return it to its rightful owner. I mean, I might not be a superhero, but I could certainly be a decent human being.

I tapped the woman on the shoulder and, with all the sincerity in the world, offered her the money. “Excuse me, I think you dropped this,” I said, handing her the bill. She looked a bit puzzled but accepted the money with a polite thank you.

As the bus jolted to a stop and I stood up to leave, I felt a strange emptiness in my pocket. I patted it down, then patted it down again. My heart sank as I realized — my own money was missing. Panic set in as I retraced my steps mentally, my mind racing through the last few minutes of my life. Where could it have gone?

Upon reaching home, I frantically searched my bag, my pockets, and even under the couch cushions, all while trying to figure out what had gone wrong. And then, like a bolt of lightning, it hit me. That money I had handed to the woman? It was my own! I had mistakenly given away my cash, thinking it belonged to someone else.

I laughed out loud, a mix of embarrassment and amusement washing over me. The woman I had tried to help probably thought I was a bit odd, but I’d like to think she went home with a funny story of her own. I could just imagine her telling friends about the time she received a random act of kindness from a stranger who probably didn’t even know it was the money he was giving away.

So, if you ever find yourself on a crowded bus and spot a stray bill, remember my tale. Sometimes, doing the right thing can lead to a little mix-up and a lot of laughs. At least I can take comfort in knowing that I inadvertently provided a bit of amusement for a fellow passenger and got a hilarious story to tell. And hey, who knew that being a do-gooder could lead to such a memorable, if slightly embarrassing, adventure?

--

--

charen julianda
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Registered Nutritionist- Dietitian with a passion in writing, research and sports.