When the Stands Empty

Elaine Gilmartin
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readMar 25, 2024

--

A life on and in the courts

by Elaine Gilmartin

Cocoparisenne

When I was in middle school, I began to read Stephen King novels. During high school and college I had little time, but would indulge on occasion as a guilty pleasure.

For my first job right after college, I was an overly ambitious 21 year old who would arrive about a half hour early most days, using a key to gain entry to the storefront office for a human services agency in Queens. Our clients ranged from homeless individuals looking for shelter, people seeking resources for emergency rent assistance or a food stamps application, or sometimes just food as we kept a small pantry in the back.

One fall morning as I sat at my desk enjoying the quiet before the typical storm, there was a knock at the door. I peeked around the cubicle and immediately felt as if a Stephen King character had just stepped out of one of his novels.

With blinds covering only the middle part of the glass door, I could only see the very top and the very bottom. At the very, very top was a hat, the kind men used to wear eons ago, and as I assessed the height of the hat, I assumed said individual was standing on a box or something to peek inside.

But no. At the very bottom stood a pair of insanely large shoes. I stared a moment longer, wondering if what I was…

--

--

Elaine Gilmartin
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

A therapist by profession, a runner by passion, a writer by necessity.