HEALTHCARE NIGHTMARES

When Will the Desperation End?

Gawdammit, all to Hell and back! GRRRRRrrrrrrr!!!

--

“Rage” by PlaygroundAI, Image provided by author

I really thought I’d have good news to share. Well… I do… sort of. I do, and I don’t have good news. I have news.

If you’re reading this, you’ve probably been following the “Desperation Saga.” That’s what I’m calling this continuing series of posts on my uniquely American healthcare struggles. You will remember, no doubt, the fight for my Dulera asthma maintenance medication was coming before an appeals review panel.

The sort of good news: As sketchy as the start for that panel was, they did approve my Dulera. Um… yay? Not so fast… Did I really think they wouldn’t still screw me over? Cue the frustration and rage… GRRRRRrrrrrrr!!!

First of all, it took another full two weeks after I learned the appeal went through. But, for a full two weeks after the insurance company said they’d cover my necessary medication they’d already kept from me since the start of 2024, the pharmacy still couldn’t process the prescription. That ran over Mother’s Day while I remained essentially trapped in my own house because I cannot risk any asthma triggers — and those triggers are everywhere outside of my controlled environment.

--

--

Author, D. Denise Dianaty
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

"Life's joys are found in the small moments. Never let those moments pass uncelebrated. Embrace the joy!"~MomzillaNC