When Your Best Friend is No Longer the Best Thing for You

Becoming a better person means losing someone along the way

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

We first met in 2010, but we really started to get close in 2017, when he came to Barcelona from Italy to join the firm I had been working for since 2013.

His bluster and outspoken character put off some people, but not me.

We enjoyed each other’s company, and I could see that there was a kind, sincere, and generous person behind his sometimes aggressive facade.

Moreover, at the time, we were both single men in a big city offering plenty of options for those looking for a good time.

Which we exploited to the fullest.

Barcelona Skyline
Photo by Jo Kassis: https://www.pexels.com/photo/city-skyline-5005656/

Then, when I was unceremoniously fired the evening before my birthday, he was there for me.

The only person who did, among the few that could.

What followed was a period of yet more excess, fueled by my broken self-esteem. Then we returned to our hometown in Italy, where we remained best buddies… Until I had enough.

--

--

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber