Why is Hurricane Ian’s Aftermath Forgotten?

People are still mourning and rebuilding after all that was lost, yet it’s a thing of the past?

Julianna
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readOct 31, 2022

--

Photo by AZGAN MjESHTRI on Unsplash

About a month ago, Hurricane Ian hit much of Central America and the Southeastern United States.

It left a horrible path of destruction that took up most of the news during that time, with people talking about how tragic this was and how long it would take to rebuild.

And then the coverage just…stopped.

And people forgot about it.

In full honesty, I forgot about it too — that’s the thing about the media. There is always one story after another, and it lingers for no one.

It wasn’t until I read this article that I remembered:

(I recommend checking it out, as it is a great source of information about the aftermath)

While there are great rebuilding efforts taking place (examples are in the article, PLEASE check it out!), there are still areas that won’t recover for a while.

With over 100 deaths and destroyed infrastructure in many areas, it will be a long road that I for one think victims should be supported on.

Of course, there are also indirect effects, one of the most significant being a potential economic crisis.

Hurricane Ian cost over $30 billion in damages, and insurance companies are taking a hard hit. Those without insurance are taking one, too!

If you’d like to learn more, I recommend reading the article linked above (last time, I promise).

This story was simply to help spread the word about what has been going on, which wouldn’t be necessary in an ideal world, but here we are.

It is still completely shocking to me that I hadn’t heard anything else about the hurricane until today, even though there is still so much going on.

If you want to donate to help rebuild after the hurricane, the Red Cross is a trustworthy source.

I also used this source for some of the details.

The topic today was a bit heavier, but it is important to stay informed about what’s going on in the world. Don’t forget to take a break if it gets to be too much!

If you have any advice/ideas for writing or any related things you feel are important to remember, please leave a response!

I’d like to make more of an effort to remember big things that don’t get as much media coverage, so if you have any suggestions or would like to join me, let me know, please.

Thank you for reading, and have a good day!

--

--

Julianna
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a young writer here to improve my skills and support the community | Still trying to find my "writer's voice", but having fun along the way