Write Your Story Better-Different Ways to Say “Said.”

“It’ll Change Your Writing Style So Much!” I Declared!

Kaylee Writes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
4 min readNov 2, 2023

--

Unsplash. Edited by Kaylee Gotsis

It’s a Staple to All Writing With Any Dialogue. “Said.”

“Said” can’t be avoided, it’s a part of writing. It’s how you tell the reader when someone says something and who. For any type of story-telling, it’s essential.

I mean, characters will eventually talk to each other. They like to do that.

Of course, repeating it over and over can be redundant. And if you only use the word “said,” you may be missing out on some unique ways to add emotions to your story. Using different words instead of “said,” can create a better tone to the conversation.

Your readers will thank you for it, I promise!

So this article will help you- the writer- write a better story by switching out “said,” with other words or add-on descriptions, so you can add some more flavor to your story.

“Said” is still an important dialogue tag. Still use it, just don’t over use it.

Replacing “Said” With A Dialogue Tag.

  • Explained.
    “I prefer chicken over pork,” I explained to the group.
  • Spoke.
    “I prefer chicken over

--

--

Kaylee Writes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I write easy to read, ADD friendly, articles about writing tips. 🍑author 🍑illustrator 🍑most importantly, a mother!