Years Late and Thousands Short

Being self-employed and tax illiterate has its consequences

Ivylockewrites
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Alice Pasqual on Unsplash

The COVID-19 shutdown was a gift and a curse.

Plenty of people sat home thriving, receiving hundreds or even thousands more than they would usually make.

Me? Well, I worked my butt off and was forced to change my apartment to homeschool high/university.

Years later, I learned about all the free money people were getting, and not one person thought to call me and tell me about all the funds available to self-employed people.

Why wasn’t I invited?

Imagine my shock and dismay when I learned that plenty of self-employed people legally cashed out in a significant way during the shutdown.

I was so worried about getting scammed or committing fraud that I didn’t realize that I actually qualified for some of the relief.

I mean, if you grew up like me, you probably are skeptical of anything that seems like it may actually help you without ruining your life.

Yep, I let pessimism block my blessings.

So, instead of enjoying Easy Street, I was over here sweating and stressing, trying to keep up with assignments, kids, coughs, and quarantines. Oh my!

--

--

Ivylockewrites
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

They call me “the voice of the people,” but I can only speak for myself. Find "Everything Ivy" here >> https://linktr.ee/IvyLockeWrites