You Don’t Need MORE to Feel Happy in Life

You are enough

Suzanne Mun
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readNov 29, 2022

--

A white sign with the black letters that say “You are worthy of love”, in front of a tree with bushes.
Photo by Tim Mossholder: https://www.pexels.com/photo/you-are-worthy-of-love-signage-on-brown-wooden-post-taken-953162/

Whenever I expected someone or something to make me happy, it turned out to be a disappointment.

That might sound kind of sad at first, but let me explain…

A year ago, I felt like I constantly needed more — more money, more friends, more “success” (whatever that means…), more EVERYTHING. I was rarely satisfied with what I had in the current moment and believed my quality of life depended on a formula: when I have X, I will be happy.

Then whenever I did eventually get X, it still wasn’t enough. I would think, “Well, that’s what was supposed to happen”, and my happiness was short-lived. I moved on to the next X and kept raising the bar every time.

For example, one of my biggest struggles has been overcoming the belief that I have to be making six figures financially to be happy — to feel amazing and set for life. Looking back, I realize that by believing this, I put so much unnecessary pressure on myself.

I kept telling myself that I wasn’t allowed to be happy unless I was making a certain amount of money… that I didn’t deserve to be happy unless I reached this goal.

This was a huge mental roadblock. The goal was unrealistic and made no sense. I was expecting a six-figure income to pop out of thin air right after graduation when I hadn’t even given myself a solid chance to actually learn the specific skills I needed AND apply them. I expected to reach this high and mighty goal and let that determine how I felt about myself.

Instead of motivating me, this mindset held me back. I didn’t allow myself to let go of the pressure and instead hustled my way through work, even though I strongly dislike hustle culture and the whole “no sleep, only work” bullsh*t.

I quickly learned, after getting burned out, that I was constantly giving up control of my happiness. I let other things (and other people) deem how I lived my life.

Instead of taking action, I let external things determine my quality of life and what I wanted to do. Instead of looking within, I looked to others for approval when it was within me the whole time to say yes to myself. To give myself permission.

Do not let your life be in the hands of anything or anyone other than yourself.

You are the leader of your own life. You are living for yourself, not for others. You are in the DRIVER’S SEAT.

This also means that every decision that you have made has gotten you to this point.

If you want to grow…

If you want to achieve your biggest dreams…

If you know you are meant for MORE in this life…

Trust that. Believe in that.

And here’s a brutal truth, if you dare to read it:

If you are not where you want to be in life and you want change to happen, either step up or shut up.

Way too many times, I see people who complain about wanting more, but never do something about it.

If you want change, if you want better, more beautiful, glorious, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, change to happen… it’s time to do the work.

It doesn’t matter how many times you fall, as long as you get back up.

YOU GOT THIS!

Suzanne

Bonus questions for reflection/journaling:

  1. Do you believe you deserve to be happy? If not, where did you learn that from?
  2. How often do you rely on other people to think for you? To make decisions for you? To determine what you believe in?
  3. Is there something you believe you need to have or be in order to be successful? How come?
  4. What if you don’t need more money, a new car, the perfect partner… to be happy and feel amazing?
  5. How would it feel to love yourself so much that you don’t need to depend on other people/drugs/alcohol to feel good?

If you like what you read, follow and subscribe for more.

Please comment with any thoughts or questions — I love interacting with other writers and readers every day!

As always, thank you for being here and for being you.

--

--

Suzanne Mun
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

❤️ I write about self-love and healing to help women prioritize their mental health and well-being. 🇺🇸🇰🇷