YouTube Makeup Tutorials

What I have learned from them

Ekta Wadhwa
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readNov 9, 2022

--

I am fascinated by the makeup skills of some people; the transformation of clients is amazing. Before and after pictures restore faith in the power of the human mind. By now I am aware of the vocabulary used by professional makeup artists like prep your skin, dab, conceal, highlight, sculpt and less is more.

I wanted to recreate this look. Photo by Apostolos Vamvouras on Unsplash

So after watching a few videos, I decided to buy a few essential products for makeup. I checked them online and was shocked to see the exorbitant prices. I love painting and found makeup to be similar to painting. You need brushes, paints, oil, canvas, cloth, and an easel to paint; for makeup brushes, colors (eye shadow palette), foundation, concealer, glue, mascara, eyeliner, and bronzer are required. The canvas is the client’s face and the artist creates magic (in most cases).

I was ready with all the makeup essentials to enhance my features and look pretty. The foundation dabbing proved to be a tough task and it wasn’t as smooth as shown in the tutorial. I dabbed and dabbed but the “blending” did not happen. The orange concealer was visible and my eyes looked like a volcano with cooled lava. I wiped my tears, sorry! Used a tissue to blot it; these videos don’t show the runny nose that accompanies tears. The sophistication ended and I cleaned my nose.

After a tough time, the canvas (my face) was ready with the base makeup. I wanted to do smokey eyes and keep the rest of the makeup simple. The blush was perfect, but then the mirror reflected my mistake and I found one cheek pinker than the other. So instead of wiping it, I added, Sorry applied more blush on the other cheek. This kept happening for some time and now I looked pinker than the Uakari monkey.

The final result. Photo by Nicola POWYS on Unsplash

Moving on to the eyes, may the makeup artist rest in peace after watching her followers. I took smokey too seriously; the volcano's lava turned black with smoke. I managed to stick the artificial eyelashes but created a look perfect for Halloween. The final step was the lipstick, the lip pencil created a curved lip line looking like a failed Botox.

Taking a selfie was scary but still, I did it to remind myself that I was doing and looking much better with my regular makeup routine. I will accept that I still love watching these videos but never try to recreate the look. One suggestion that I have for all enthusiasts like me is to invest in a good makeup remover so that your painting (face) can be restored to normalcy.

--

--

Ekta Wadhwa
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Writing and reading about daily life experiences that are simple yet impactful