Fiction | Challenge | Regret

Tears Across the Waves

John Hansen
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Short Stories

--

Harry Hogg’s Challenge Regret

Photo by Josh Post on Unsplash

I stand in the shallow water, rolling waves lapping at my ankles, the rising sun creating a myriad of colours across the sea — all the way to the horizon. To me it seems like God is sending me a sign, lighting my way so I could just step out and walk across the water.

My parents have a beach house up on the hill, just 100 yards or so from where I stand. Rough wooden steps lead down to the beach. We came here every summer. My mum and dad, twin sister Heather, and me. It was our Heaven on Earth. Sutton’s Beach was always my favourite place, so peaceful and beautiful. But that was before... before the tragedy.

My name is Lily. I am ten years and two weeks old. Mum said I was born first, so because I was the older, I had to always look after my younger sister. This is the first time we have been back to the beach house, since…

I let my mind recount the events. It is all still so clear, as though it happened just last week.

Heather and I had just turned eight. We had actually celebrated the night before and our mum had baked a yummy cake with sixteen candles for the both of us to blow out at once. As well as sisters, we were also best friends. Our life was carefree and full of fun and adventure. We spent…

--

--

John Hansen
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Short Stories

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!