Lessons From a Student Journalist

Jordan Pagkalinawan
Boundless & Ballin’
4 min readJul 21, 2020
Standing in front of the WLS-TV (ABC7 Chicago) building in August of 2018.

In one of my past articles, I detailed my experiences as a basketball beat writer for my high school newspaper, which can be found here:

Now, I’ll detail my nine years of experience as a student journalist as well as share some of the lessons I’ve learned while in the field.

My Experience

Beginning at nine years old, I’ve covered local stories around my neighborhood and put them on my Youtube channel. I knew I wanted to be a reporter since I was seven years old and watching the news most nights (with a parent around, of course). Some of the headlines broadcast may have been too much for any child’s young brain to handle, but I knew that reporting the news was what I wanted to do. Since then, I ventured out into Southern California, interviewing people anywhere, on-camera or off. It’s unexpected to be answering the questions of a minor, but many people still obliged.

I’ve gone off to breaking news stories with a parent behind the wheel, capturing any photos or videos of the action along the way. I’ve done stories on elections, marathons, marches, and even a fatal train-versus-pedestrian accident at a nearby Metrolink station.

I’ve had the privilege of meeting local news reporters and photographers, and have even been featured on the evening news twice. Every time I visit a new city, I’m not just looking for the popular tourist spots, but I also go out of my way to find any news station or newspaper office in town.

In addition to seeking out these buildings and taking pictures of nearly every news van I pass by, my interest in journalism also extended into the classroom. In fifth grade, my teacher made us get up in front of the class for “Current Events”, discussing any news story we’d come across. Some of the stories I presented were historical or sports-related. She also had the newspaper around for any of us to read, and I was one of — if not the only one — to pick it up and read it in my free time.

My adventures in journalism continued, and in eighth grade, I joined my middle school newspaper. I wrote only one short story and a couple of sports articles, but it was amazing to around others who shared the same interest in storytelling I had.

I’ve dabbled in various forms of storytelling, and I will be continuing to do so with a sports podcast that’s in the works.

What I’ve Learned

My experience has given me many lessons in reporting, and I’ve tried to incorporate them into every story I write and every video I produce.

The key lesson I’ve learned is to always remain resilient. Even in this crazy year, it is important to keep your head up and do your best work every time, never settling for anything less. I’ve had people politely declined to be interviewed, and it hasn’t deterred me from reporting at all.

Another one I learned was about journalism ethics. I try to be unbiased in any article I write and any interview I conduct and continue to follow the basic principles such as citing sources, attributing quotes, and even remembering to include the Oxford comma.

The Reportage Books & Articles I’ve Read

In addition to my coverage in the field, I’ve read many phenomenal books on journalism, from works by Walter Cronkite and David Brinkley to a textbook that I found in Stanford University’s bookstore called Writing & Reporting for the Media. All of these accounts have given me more insight into the industry.

I’ve also found great resources on Medium and the web. Articles written by journalists have offered new perspectives on current topics, whether it’s the Black Lives Matter protests, new technology being used, or the trajectory of the industry in the future. I have also followed organizations striving to protect journalists’ rights, including the Society of Professional Journalists and Committee to Protect Journalists.

Conclusion

My journalism journey so far has been nothing short of extraordinary. I’ve been able to have these experiences because of a supportive family as well as keeping my determination and resilience. And to all journalists out there, thanks for doing what you do and inspiring the next generation.

--

--

Jordan Pagkalinawan
Boundless & Ballin’

Top Writer in NBA & Sports. Student journalist & podcaster. Socials manager at PerThirtySix, editor for Last Word on Hoops, & writer for YRMedia. Emerson ’26.