Reflecting on Four Years as a High School Broadcaster

Jordan Pagkalinawan
Boundless & Ballin’
5 min readMay 21, 2022
Screenshot by author (my second-to-last broadcast)

Thursday, May 19, marked my final high school broadcast. I’ve been in the commentator role all four years and truly enjoyed every minute of it.

I started out as a freshman announcing varsity basketball home games, influenced by NBA play-by-play legends as well as the current slew of magnificent announcers. From my first game, I learned how to be professional on the call while using my knowledge of the team as a beat writer to my advantage.

I continued to grow as a sophomore, coming up with new phrases on the fly and increasing my network of friends across campus. However, nothing could prepare me — or anyone, really — for my junior year of broadcasting.

Due to the circumstances at the time and with high school sports in the air as a result, our livestreams became vital to my school community in 2020. With limited fan attendance at our games, everyone had to adapt, including me. In addition to varsity, I found myself commentating freshman and JV basketball games as well. Although it was very taxing for me, I still found it to be very rewarding, since I was watching the future of Loyola’s basketball program. I also developed friendships with some of the underclassmen, who were mutual friends with the varsity players.

Heading into my senior year, we were transitioning into a “new normal.” This year was particularly special for me, considering how I got to watch and announce my friends’ games on the livestream — being there for their final year of high school sports — in addition to the juniors and sophomores I got to know at the start of the season. It was also nice to have a co-commentator next to me, as we shared the duty of bringing Loyola sports to people who couldn’t be there. Furthermore, I continued to grow as a broadcaster this year, choosing to announce several varsity baseball and volleyball games after I finished four years of calling high school basketball.

Credit: Jason Cruz (Loyola Athletics)

I was relatively knowledgeable about both sports, but still had to prepare before spring started so I could really know what I was talking about. I believe that the last three months molded me into a more versatile commentator and showed that I wasn’t just a guy who talked hoops 24/7. Again, seeing my friends that I’ve known for four years succeed was inspiring, and it meant a lot to be calling some of their biggest moments, whether it was a game-tying home run or a set-winning attack.

After volleyball’s playoff win in the quarterfinals, I expected myself to be available for the start of varsity baseball’s playoff run. I also thought it’d be my final week of broadcasting. My expectations clearly didn’t turn into reality, as I tested positive for COVID-19 the day before baseball’s first-round game.

I thought my four years as a broadcaster would end right then and there, and the rest of the club thought we’d be done after that week, with varsity volleyball ultimately falling in the CIF-SS Division 1 Finals. However, it’s never a good idea to assume anything too early.

I found out we’d be livestreaming volleyball’s state regionals matches. It was more than an opportunity for me to see them play again. It was an opportunity for personal redemption, getting a second chance at my final week on the call.

The last two games I called were incredible, with varsity volleyball taking care of business both times and, tonight (May 20), getting their own shot at redemption: facing the team that beat them for that CIF D1 championship.

The broadcast club also tried something new in the last few months: pregame interviews. I was able to interview the varsity volleyball head coach, as well as one of my good friends who is also the team captain. I have a good feeling these segments will continue next year and beyond.

Varsity volleyball captain and USC commit Dillon Klein (Screenshot by author)

These interviews also opened my eyes to the experience of sideline reporting, something I’m equally interested in doing — but that’s a story for another day.

Going back to the events of this past week, I received plenty of acknowledgements that my time on the air was coming to a close. That support was extended to my last broadcast and final sign-off, and I got messages from current and former students congratulating me on ending a great high school broadcasting career. Like I mentioned in my beat writer reflection, I began to recognize the impact I had on others as this chapter came to a close.

As I begin to wrap up this article, I can’t help but think of the biggest takeaways I’ve had over the last four years. Aside from the aspect of professionalism, I also formed incredible friendships and made long-lasting connections with others. Broadcasting in high school was an unbelievable experience, and I’m thrilled at the possibility of continuing this journey in college, whether that’s resuming my announcing duties or switching things up by reporting from either the studio or the sidelines.

I cannot properly finish this article without thanking several people.

I’m grateful to Mr. Uy and Mr. Carbajal, who have moderated JMBC at various points throughout my four years here, as well as Mr. O’Donnell (Loyola HS Athletic Director), Mrs. Cassutt (Athletic Secretary), Mr. Cruz (Athletic Communications Manager), and Corey (PA announcer), who I’ve had the pleasure of working with as both a broadcaster and beat writer.

Special thanks to Jackson Kruse, Jackson Sutherlin, and Gaurav Law, Loyola alumni and former JMBC co-commentators; it was fantastic to share this role with you guys. Also, thank you to Tate, Nolan, Frank, Carlos, and Jason; Tate, Nolan, and Frank will be among an amazing rotation of announcers next year (with Carlos as their director), while Jason moves on to play varsity volleyball. Finally, I greatly appreciate everyone who has supported me on this journey; it was an honor calling games over these last four years, and the memories will last a lifetime.

And with that, my high school broadcasting career is, as Chick Hearn used to say, “in the refrigerator!”

--

--

Jordan Pagkalinawan
Boundless & Ballin’

Top Writer in NBA & Sports. Student journalist & podcaster. Socials manager at PerThirtySix, editor for Last Word on Hoops, & writer for YRMedia. Emerson ’26.