How I didn’t get diabetes

An easy to follow approach that most of you will ignore

Rey Node
Bowel Movements

--

I am supposed to be diabetic. I have had insulin resistance for years now, which is almost guaranteed to lead to diabetes. If you are an adult living in the U.S., chances are one in three that you have insulin resistance, too. But you probably don’t know. And you probably won’t know until it’s too late. By then, you will be diagnosed with diabetes, and you will be prescribed drugs (most likely insulin injections before or after meals, and something like metformin) to fight the symptoms of diabetes, but without addressing the causes.

You will live an increasingly limited life, and you will never get off the prescription drugs. You will gain additional weight, year after year, that you will carry around for the rest of your days. In time, you may lose mobility, your chances of developing cardiovascular disease skyrocket, you’re more likely to suffer damage to your nerves, kidneys, and eyesight. You may lose a limb, develop Alzheimer’s disease, and eventually, you’re at greatly increased risk to die young. (Source: Center for Disease Control and Prevention)

I have insulin resistance, and as a subject of our current medical landscape, I was destined to become diabetic. But I didn’t. Not because of luck, not because of some miracle drug, but because I drastically changed the way I eat and live.

Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

--

--

Rey Node
Bowel Movements

I create lovable brands and write about the creative industry. Currently working on a book and a card game. Former agency co-founder and director (15 years).