Life at Box: Inside Box Sign Amsterdam

Quintin Botes
Box Tech Blog
Published in
4 min readJul 25, 2022

Welcome the first of a short series of Life at Box: Box Engineering! Our first feature will spotlight our Amsterdam office, home of Box Sign.

Illustrated by Madeline Horwath/ Art Directed by Erin Ruvalcaba Grogan

What is Box Sign?

Box Sign puts e-signatures right where your content lives, powering an easy, seamless signing experience right in the Content Cloud. There are over 40 employees in our Amsterdam office. We have diverse Boxers from around the globe, but we all share the same Box values. Oh, and we’re hiring!

The great thing about working at Box Sign is the ability to show your strengths no matter what your job role. Box encourages people to bring their best selves to work and make their mothers (or fathers for that matter) proud. We live these values day in and day out.

- Quintin Botes, Engineering Manager at Box Sign Amsterdam

Wondering whether a career at Box Sign might be for you? Take a step inside our Amsterdam office and find out what it’s like to live the Box Sign life with our spotlighted employee Tim Mulqueen.

Spotlight on a senior engineer from the Box Sign team

“Hello, My name is Tim Mulqueen and I am working in the Box Sign team as a Senior Frontend Engineer. I am a self taught dev who studied Cultural Anthropology and I started my career building design monstrosities using wordpress and jquery. I have been doing React and Typescript for the last 5 years in Ecommerce, Fin tech and recently Messaging Saas. For fun, I love Snowboarding, eating good food and coffee, trying new beers, gaming and I have recently gotten into climbing.”

Tim Mulqueen, Senior Frontend Developer

Every single member of our team holds the same core values. These values help guide the decisions we make every single day and play a big part in making sure we bring the right people into the organization. We asked Tim to share some of his experiences living Box values at work.

At Box, one of our core values is “Blow Our Customers’ Minds” — Tim, what does that mean to you?
It’s about understanding why we are building features. I like to focus on keeping the customer’s in mind when building features and making their lives easier. I enjoy learning about the use cases and having that be the motivating factor behind building.

At Box we dream big. That’s why one of our core values is maximizing by 10x. What was the latest cool thing you 10x’ed?
Signature frames and I recently worked on how we could get our changes into production faster and more reliably. This allowed our frontend team to more quickly develop. This meant it also got to our customers faster.

Box wants every employee to “Be an Owner,” and take charge and responsibility with improving our business. What does that mean for you in your work?
Being an owner for me means taking responsibility for the code base and changes we make, knowing it will blow our customers’ minds! I control what my work day looks like and have dedicated focus time where I can be my best self. I set myself and Box up for success.

Box believes that we do our best work when we are our authentic selves. That’s why one of our values let’s Boxers fill in the blank: Bring your {Blank} self to work every day. How do you fill in the blank?
I bring my best self to work every day. Box enables me to be the professional I always want to be while still having fun and working on cool things, and that let’s me be the best I can be!

You should always strive to “Make Mom (or whomever you value most) Proud” at Box. How do you spend your time at Box making your valued person proud?
Working on impactful features. The features I have worked on recently really do make a huge difference in our clients’ and end users’ lives and I love to be part of the team that enables them to do it.

Where we work

The Amsterdam office is the home of Box Sign, and though our team is expanding rapidly, we’ve stayed connected, interested, and invested in one another’s work and growth.

It is amazing to see how fast the Sign team has grown and even more so to see already the chemistry and camaraderie among the team members”

— Thierry Chassaing, SVP Engineering and TechOps

People from around the world flock to Amsterdam, and we welcome this diversity and cultural exchange here at our office. We’re inspired by the vast array of people who work with us here at Box Sign.

Check out our career page and experience the amazing opportunities and perks that Box can offer you: https://careers.box.com/emea/en

--

--