Stardom Across The Sea

Kashief Hairston
Bradcast Media
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2020
Credit: Manningeaux

Many young men in urban areas have aspirations to be an athlete. For some, it is football — for others — it’s baseball, but basketball is the most popular amongst those in not just rural areas, but for kids across the world. One of those kids turned out to be Tyseem Lyles, who is the starting Point Guard for ETV Hamburg in Germany. Lyles has played for many countries, and while his life as an overseas basketball player may be challenging at times, his deep love for the game re-ignites the desire to play every season.

Lyles grew up in Red Hook, a neighborhood in Brooklyn, NY, where he first developed his love for the game of basketball. “I started playing basketball, around the age of nine… I was influenced by the people around me. I had family, friends, who all played basketball, so I really wanted to spend time with them. That’s how I fell in love with the game.”

Playing overseas basketball is different than playing in the States. Scouts from all over the world are watching, and it is an opportunity for budding stars to showcase their talents. However, it is not always easy for U.S. born athletes looking to build their niche overseas. “The lifestyle overseas really depends on where you are. I’ve played in Mexico, the Dominican Republic, France, Czech Republic, and now [Germany],” says Lyles. “The most difficult climates that I’ve played in was in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.”

Credit: Manningeaux

Living away from home has helped Lyles grow as an individual, learning how to speak different languages and adjust to different time zones. Living away from home has also guided him in time management, which has made him into a more responsible person. “My schedule is very hectic because I am taking language courses now. The only time I have to get extra shots up is after practice, so I really have to prioritize that and manage my time so that I can get better throughout the season.”

Credit: Manningeaux

Lyles’ unbridled passion for greatness on the court is matched by his desire to give back. While still learning and growing as an individual, he is also teaching those in the communities that employ him. “Since I’ve been here for two years, I was able to build something as far as a teacher, trainer, player, friend to all the kids that look up to me,” he said. “When I come home, there are some kids I mentor as well.”

While playing in different cities and countries around the world, Lyles always makes sure to carry himself as a consummate professional. Striving to retain a positive image, Lyles continues to work hard to achieve his goal of reaching the highest level of pro basketball. He leaves some advice for youngsters who are in pursuit of a basketball career; “It’s important to keep those who are on the same mission around you. If you want to be a professional, you have to treat yourself as if you are a professional. You have to keep those around you that will help you succeed.”

--

--