How My Diet Drastically Improved My ADHD Symptoms

Mal Lusin
Brag Board
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2024

Last year I wasn’t able to focus on one single page, because my mind wandered around and I was nervous all the time.

But how can I now read in flow for at least 1 hour, feel energized, carefree and have less impulses??

This is what I have been consistenly doing for the past 6 months:

  1. Cutting out ultra- processed food
  2. Focusing on eating anti- inflammatory foods
  3. Diversifying my gut microbiome through my diet

We will go together through these steps and I will present you some studies and podcasts that back my results, which will help you to understand and to dive deeper into this topic.

How I used to feel and eat

Very briefly this is how my diet looked like: leftovers, juices, fast food, processed meats, microwave meals and sweets.

Although this diet was easy to obtain, it obviously took a great deal on my overall health, especially on my mental well-being. I could easily pay it with my money and time, but not with my health anymore.

I couldn’t focus, was irritated, fatigued but also impulsive and had incredible mood swings. Then, I got diagnosed with ADHD.

What I have changed

Basically, I just cut out highly processed food.

For numerous reasons, highly processed food is a consumable poison. Not only does it induce obesity and other risk factors, but it also may cause depression: ultra-processed-foods-may-increase-risk-of-depression

Moreover, I started to eat many anti-inflammatory foods.

To be honest, I didn’t know what I was really doing when I began to diversify my diet with anti-inflammatory foods such as turmeric, ginger, avocados, nuts and dark chocolate with little to no sugar added. But it did not only change my whole digestive system, it also cleared my mind and helped me to focus for a long time.

The gut microbiome is having a super hype, not only in science and nutrition. It is also incredibly beneficial and effective when working on self- development.

Furthermore, not only does the gut microbiome impact your physical well- being, it also drastically heightens performance when healthy.

These are some podcasts to dive into: episode-124, https://www.hubermanlab.com/episode/dr-robert-lustig-how-sugar-processed-foods-impact-your-health (There are also articles in the shownotes, if you don’t like podcasts)

The book that helped me to start: “Ultra- Processed People” by Chris van Tulleken.

How I am feeling now

As of right now, I am literally ADHD symptoms free.

I feel energized, focused, happy, I have rare mood swings, I picked up regular exercise and started this blog. This all was 6 months ago unimaginable.

I know that this is only the beginning.

See you next post,

Mal

--

--

Mal Lusin
Brag Board

Hello, fellow ambitious self-developer. Here, I mainly focus on unfolding experiences my younger self would have needed to succeed faster in life.