Brain Scramble + Weak Focus

Anonymous
Brain Excrement
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2021

The struggle to mentally connect and stay tuned in.

Thinking too hard or not at all

Photo by Kindel Media from Pexels

I’m struggling to get any thoughts, feelings, and emotions on paper that would be worth reading. I don’t know what to write about and my lack of focus to generate any thoughts or convey any words on medium are overwhelming to me.

I’m honestly just writing to go through the motions. Hopefully if I can perform the action enough times to get better at this.

Why am I Doing This?

I am six months away from being at my current job for an entire year and am trying to develop more skills before my performance review. I work 12 to 16 hours a day at my own job and by the time I am off the last thing I want to do is more work. I’d like to be in the best position in my performance review to ask for a raise. I don’t want to put all of my eggs in one basket. As a contingency I’d like to develop as a writer so that I can add value to my life mentally and financially.

What is the Problem?

Photo by Nik Shuliahin on Unsplash

I am having the worst time concentrating and focusing in developing my writing and communication skills. I can’t figure out why I can fall into a Youtube rabbit hole of endless videos or online articles but its taking me 3 or 4 days to write on medium. I feel worse the next day when I did not writing anything on medium wasting time. I don’t think any of what I am saying is useful or beneficial. I’m doing my best to try to put anything I can on here so that I can start somewhere and keep moving forward.

What are My Goals to This?

Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

I would like to go into my performance review being proud that I have developed another skill on my own on top of performing and producing at work. People at jobs typically ask for a 10 to 15 percent pay increase. I’m asking for 25 because I believe with my responsibilities and capabilities I am worth it. With that being said I’d like to go into my review demonstrating that can I also create more value within myself even after I’m off work. I’m also just interested in sharpening and developing my abilities as a writer.

Final Thoughts?

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I’m sorry this was a real struggle for me to get anything out on paper. I hope to try to again tomorrow on something that I do enjoy talking about and engage properly with anyone reading this. I promise to try again tomorrow and focus more on finding and reading on medium of people that have the results that I want. Thanks again for anyone taking the time to read this and I’ll try again tomorrow.

--

--