LIFE SKILLS

How to Make Logical Decisions Today and For the Future

Tools for evaluating needs, motives, steps, and anticipated outcomes

Patricia Jeanne
Brain Labs
Published in
11 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Two animated question marks facing off. One is red and the other blue.
Dueling questions. Created with Dall-E AI. Source: Author

Ed and I were in love. We’d been working together and dating for a while and had been looking forward to going to Las Vegas together. I dropped two coins in a slot machine and he gave me an incredulous look.

“You have to play the maximum number of coins.” With a Master’s degree in Business Administration and a minor in Applied Mathematics working on a computer system, I knew he could be a little rigid.

I shook my head. “No, I’m not planning on winning this time.” He was baffled. “And I’m not going to marry you,” I added thoughtfully.

Ed was suddenly uncomfortable. “Because I’m gay? I can overlook you being born with the wrong body.”

I had fun explaining my long-departed great-grandmother might not be ready to help yet, I wasn’t wearing the right shoes, and the machine knew better than to pay me less than the maximum. We were still developing our relationship — the slot machine and me.

Marrying Ed wasn’t a viable option for a lot of reasons, but leading my list was his lack of appreciation for the not-so-obvious variables that go into making decisions big and small.

--

--

Patricia Jeanne
Brain Labs

I write satire, tech-related, and personal essays. Interests include cybersecurity, tech use & Neuroscience. Lizzie Lizard Brain is my darker, funnier side.