Transformative Journey

The Art and Consciousness of Technology

How digital tools reshaped creativity

Gael MacLean
Brain Labs
Published in
12 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Mixed-media abstract collage of city life.
Image created by Author in Midjourney

The advent of the digital age impacted how we interact with the world. My life changed profoundly in many ways. It was not long before my career in the film and TV industry relied solely on digital tools to refine and enhance my craft. Ray Kurzweil, a cutting-edge inventor and futurist, influenced the way I saw the world with his pioneering work in the convergence of technology, art, and consciousness.

As an early adopter of Ray’s technology, I began using the Kurzweil K250 in the 1980s for sound and music design. Transitioning from the K250 to the K2000 in the early 1990s, I was astonished by the surge of creativity it unearthed within me.

The Kurzweil was a groundbreaking piece of equipment — one of the first digital synthesizers capable of realistically simulating the nuanced tones of a grand piano and a variety of orchestral instruments with remarkable fidelity. It changed not just how music was composed and produced, but also how sound was designed in film and TV, opening up whole new avenues for immersive environments.

This was the beginning of my love affair with digital technology. Once I discovered the magic of image creation, my life and career were totally absorbed…

--

--

Gael MacLean
Brain Labs

Award-winning creator bringing a fearless approach to exploring new creative worlds across multiple disciplines. Portfolio - https://www.gaelmac.com