My Daughter Sounds Like an Angel

Jewels Magadan
Brain Matters
2 min readAug 10, 2020

--

A teeny tiny musing about love.

Photo by Author

I can’t sing. Like, I really cannot sing. I sound like a dying dog who also has anxiety and clinical depression.

BUT

My daughter loves my singing voice. At first it wasn't that surprising. She was was a tiny baby so I just figured she enjoyed the familiarity from her 8 months in the womb.

Then she got older and would demand that I sing the “Snuggle Puppy” book by Sandra Boynton to her multiple times in one night. “No, Mommy! Sing it!” And then, “Again!”

Then, she became a big girl.

I sing in the car. This mini-person shouts from the back seat, “Mommy! You should be on American Idol!”

I almost choked on my own spit.

I’m not being modest. I sound terrible.

But now I get it.

Noelle has been singing a lot lately now that she got her new gaming headphones. My daughter sounds like an angel.

Boy, do I just love to hear her little angelic voice. I get flashbacks of her chunky, giggling babyhood, and her sweet baby smell. It gives me goosebumps.

I remember all the sweet little things she would do for me as a preschooler, like warning me that a peppermint is spicy, or holding the dust pan while I swept.

I know my daughter wouldn’t win American Idol.

But I get it now.

It’s because I love her so much that, while she wouldn’t win American Idol, her little angelic singing voice wins my heart.

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

--

--

Jewels Magadan
Brain Matters

Very interested in humans, past and present- and our brains. Subscribe to get my stories sent to your inbox here: https://medium.com/@jewelmagadan/subscribe