How to speak confidently in public?

Subu yadav
Brain storm
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2022
Photo by fauxels on pexels

In order to speak confidently firstly you have to overcome the fear of facing the public.

“We must build dikes of courage to hold back the flood of fear” — Martin Luther King. Jr

“Knowledge is the key.”

Let’s talk about my experience in public speaking which I was able to go through at the early stage of my life. Firstly let’s talk about the recent one wherein I was able to get selected among the top 10 out of the 300 people who participated in it.

A perfect public speaker is different from others because they never fear people in the first place, this is what even applied in my case. I asked one of the fellows how he managed to speak so confidently he came up with something like this — “When you know what to speak why fear people”.

To speak confidently you have to be aware of the topic on which you are going to speak, indirectly which will boost your confidence. The night before D-day I was doing the same, going through the topic precisely so that I don’t miss out on any little bit of information and picking out the best liners.

“Practice, Practice, Practice.”

“Knowledge is of no value unless you put it into practice.”

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Practising something again& again makes progress and helps you achieve something. I remember the days when I used to speak in front of a mirror to motivate myself and that certainly helped me with my public speaking skills. People may think you are a weirdo when you speak to yourself or maybe the mirror but don’t hesitate to ignore those people and their opinions.

Stop worrying about what others think instead try to focus on improving yourself, then they will come and ask for your tips once you are done perfecting your skill.

Maintaining a good posture while speaking.

Try to maintain a good posture, so that you feel relaxed and calm. Don’t make unnecessary moves in your position and mostly try to plant your feet. Maintain eye contact with the audience so they feel included in it.

Avoid placing your hands behind or in your pocket. Keep your hands comfortably at your side. Don’t make defensive postures like crossing your arms and dominant postures like lifting your head up too much.

Photo by Product School on Unsplash

Try to apply this in your life and let me know if these things helped you to become a better speaker.

If you like the content, don’t forget to clap. So I can continue to produce the best quality content for you :)

--

--