‘Make Food Great Again’- How Trump’s Presidential Campaign Can Inspire the Food World.

Donald Trump’s journey from reality TV to the world’s top job teaches valuable lessons about building a movement.

Gavin Wren
Brain Food Magazine

--

Photo by Darren Halstead on Unsplash, edited by Gavin Wren

“It’s fucked mate. Your car is fucked.”

The palms of my hands moisten and my eyelids slowly close, as I try to recall my credit card balance, and calculate whether the unworn jeans I bought on payday are still within their 28 day free returns period.

On the phone is a mechanic, the expert with all the knowledge. I’m at the mercy of his facts. I try to swallow, but my throat is dry and the lump doesn’t want to go down.

“Wh.. wh.. what’s the problem?” I say.

It didn’t seem fucked when I dropped it off at the garage on the way to work this morning. A little tired perhaps, like most people, but certainly not fucked. I only wanted a basic service, MOT and new windscreen wipers.

“The fuelling is all over the place, cylinder three was running lean, totally underfuelled while 2 and 4 were running rich. There was a leaf in your intake meaning the whole thing was starved of air at idle.”

“Oh, ok. Sounds complicated. Is that everything?”

--

--