The Nurtured Mom at Work

Mary Susan Fiedler
brains
Published in
3 min readJul 1, 2019

When my son was born in May 2018, I’d spent my pregnancy preparing to take advantage of Brains on Fire’s “Babies at Work” program. At Brains on Fire, we’re able to bring our babies to work until six months of age. It’s an overall morale boost (who doesn’t love a cute squishy babe), as well as a way to support our employees who are experiencing one of life’s greatest transitions. If we can make that an easier transition for them, we want to do it! I knew the value work held in my life, and I am grateful I was given the chance to ease into being a working mom.

When my good friend, Susan of Susan of Brewer Photography, asked me to be a part of her photography project celebrating motherhood, I knew I had to do it. The Nurtured Project is a body of work celebrating the often small, unseen moments of motherhood. Susan asked moms where they felt nurtured or nurturing in their mothering, and then she photographs them in that space. There was no question in my mind where nurturing came into play for me: it was Brains on Fire.

I wanted to be a part of The Nurtured Project because there is no right or wrong way to do motherhood. We are all in this together, figuring out what works best for us and for our children. There are so many ways to be a mom, and I wanted to help highlight how many styles of motherhood that exist. This body of work showcased how we can champion and support all different kinds of moms.

At Brains on Fire, I felt most nurtured as a mom because working afforded me the opportunity to focus on just me for a bit. Work helped me keep a healthy perspective on the world around me, instead of fixating on my son and his needs. Time to myself was key to understanding — and adapting — to the newest dimension of my personhood, the addition of the motherhood layer. My coworkers loved seeing my son each day, and they often provided some relief by holding him for a bit or letting him nap nearby. Those moments helped me nurture my child by taking time to nurture myself, too. In turn, I am able to care for my son in a way that makes me proud.

What has becoming a (working) mom meant to me? It has been a sacred and mysterious transition, but one I wouldn’t trade. Becoming a mom has been one of my biggest joys and surprisingly, the Holy Grail I spent most of my 20s looking for. My son has offered a sense of completion to life, but not in the way that has become totally and completely my life. I feel more relaxed and content in myself since adding the layer of motherhood. Motherhood helps me see the truly important parts of life more easily. That perspective shift has also helped me be a better employee. I am more sure of and confident in what I have to offer, as well as the boundaries I have to offer it within — an unstoppable combination.

I am eternally grateful I was afforded such an opportunity to bring my son to work, but also to participate in The Nurtured Project to share my style of a working mom with others and inspire moms to chase after their own needs as a mother.

--

--

Mary Susan Fiedler
brains
Writer for

Mary Susan the Logistics Queen with Brains on Fire. By day, she helps keep things running in the office, and by night she enjoys time with her family and pups.