Women’s History Month: BoF Q&A

Brandy Amidon
brains
Published in
17 min readMar 28, 2022

In celebration of Women’s History Month, we’ve spent some extra time throughout March reflecting on the impact of the creative, smart women who paved the way for those of us who followed. Their leadership, efforts and accomplishments set the stage for each of us to shine, thrive and succeed in our own way.

Check out these thoughts and insights from Brains on Fire’s current creative leading ladies:

Question: Among Customer Account Managers, 40.2% of them are women compared to 56.0% which are men. According to the 2019 AIGA Design Census, 61% of designers working today are women. As of 2021, women in senior management roles globally grew to 31%, the highest number ever recorded. — Do you consider your womanhood an important part of your identity as a creative professional?

Laura

  • With some uncovering and unlearning work, I’m relearning to embrace my womanhood as a valuable strength, to champion it as a positive part of my identity as a creative professional.

Blythe

  • Yes and no… at a very base level, I just want to be viewed as a talented designer, not a talented “female” designer.

Emily T.

  • I think we all bring our own identities into our work and we leverage our experiences into empathy for our audiences.

Kim

  • Yes! I think it’s important to have voices in the room that can challenge white male cisheteronormativity!

Gaelyn

  • Despite the low number of female creative directors (11% I believe), I never put much thought, emphasis or question behind my gender in regards to my role… It was eye opening to hear that others modeled and aspired to me as a reflection of female leadership as well as their own career goals.

Natalie

  • Coming from environments where toxic positivity and #girlboss energy prevailed, it’s refreshing to tell others that I’m a leader and I’m respected just for being who I am versus what I’m “expected” to be.

Emily N.

  • Every leader doesn’t need to be the most vocal member of a group. An important form of leadership is one where you set your teammates up for success and take a step back. This is how many women naturally lead, the key is recognizing how important that kind of leadership is.

Question: What are the benefits to having women in leadership?

Drue

  • Not only is it just ethical — it’s good for the bottom line. With women driving about 80% of consumer purchasing, the future belongs to agencies that see the power in having leadership that better reflects the people they are hoping to reach. Diversity in leadership (this includes both women & non-binary people) ultimately leads to more effective and relatable design.

Laura

  • A unique combination of poise and power — part strength, strategic thinking, scrappy work ethic, refined skill, adaptability, immense creativity and much determination.

Meg

  • We learn from people who are not like us, just as much as those who are like us. Gender diversity matters!

Emma

  • Generally speaking, I’ve found women in leadership positions are better at consistent communication, lifting up other women in the office, and prioritizing listening.

Anusha

  • Women experience the world differently, so they’ll have unique ideas and angles to bring to the table.

Mary Susan

  • It’s being able to see yourself in a role that you aspire to, or simply seeing that what you dream is possible.

Emily T.

  • Younger women need to see what female leadership can look like for themselves (and then make it their own).

Kim

  • We tend to hire folks with whom we can feel comfortable: variety breeds variety.

Gaelyn

  • There is also at times a maternal nature that can make female leaders less intimidating to approach with tough topics. And speaking of being maternal, for those women who choose to become mothers it’s unbelievably comforting to see other women lead by example of being committed and dedicated workers while also modeling healthy boundaries and work life realities. Not feeling uncertain, conflicted or guilty about having to say “sorry that meeting time doesn’t work for me, I have to pick my kids up from school” is insanely empowering and healthy.

Natalie

  • Intersectionality at every turn. By having a variety of women represented across the ranks, we’re able to be intentional, informed and inclusive in every strategic decision we make, no matter how small.

Emily N.

  • By creating a team with leadership styles different from the Succession-style male CEO, we can create great work in an environment we want to work in.

Question: What do you think is the most significant barrier to female leadership?

Drue

  • The patriarchy :)
  • Additionally, it is no secret that women leave the industry — and all industries — at a higher rate to care for children and family. Opportunities to work remotely has helped ease some of the pressures of family life, while social media has created lower barriers of entry for women to start businesses and share their work. Embracing progressive and flexible work environments allow us to better democratize the design industry.

Laura

  • Gender norms and expectations which lead to things such as the likability penalty and endless, ever-evolving standards that are impossible for any human to meet.
  • I like how Zoe summarized it in a recent article, Mad Men, Furious Women: “But we are being robbed of the chance to do all of this with our full capacity and capability, to truly inspire and be inspired, to be on our A game, when we’re also lugging around this ridiculously heavy burden of having to self censor, editing ourselves consciously and unconsciously, just to be able to coexist in these spaces.”

Meg

  • Generally speaking, there seems to be more margin given to fathers who work than mothers who work.

Emma

  • The loudest voice in the room isn’t always the right one

Blythe

  • We are still seeing society putting women down and not giving women the confidence needed to get to these leadership levels. It’s the saying of “actions speak louder than words” and unfortunately I think the “actions” still need work.

Anusha

  • Perception — both the way women are perceived and the way we perceive ourselves.

Mary Susan

  • On the whole, we need more support for moms in the workforce. We do an excellent job of this here at BoF (supporting our working mothers!)

Emily T.

  • Good role models! There are just fewer examples to look to — on a global level and at an organization level. The more we can model and normalize female leadership, the more it opens up to become the standard.

Kim

  • I haven’t personally experienced a ton of professional leadership by other Black women, so it felt like entering a new frontier. It can be hard to know if you’re “doing it right.”

Gaelyn

  • Growing up in subcultures like punk, which are not only male dominated but also are constantly challenging the status quo and raising a voice not often heard, most likely set me up for success in an unlikely way.

Natalie

  • Navigating the spectrum of “expected” leadership behavior. Owning and telling our own stories of what it means to be a leader.

Emily N.

  • Recognizing that a leader doesn’t fit one specific mold.

Question: How do you navigate the “likability penalty”?

Drue

  • This is extremely difficult to navigate, and will be handled differently by everyone. Unfortunately, women will always be held to a different standard when it comes to communication. Working in an environment where women’s voices and individual personalities are valued (even when they don’t align with gender stereotypes) will empower women to have the confidence to contribute more freely.

Laura

  • I think you have to ground your value in something deeper than what others think of you.

Emma

  • I’m at a point where I no longer shy away from being opinionated or fighting for my viewpoint if I think it’s important or integral to the work. My power at work shouldn’t detract from my likability as a human being.

Blythe

  • I am very much the person who wants to please and be liked but time and time again it puts me in a terrible position… It is something I am working to change.

Anusha

  • Ask questions — if a man had acted in the same manner, would you still be thinking this way?

Mary Susan

  • The beginning of my career here at BoF was based on this — I enabled bad behavior to keep the peace and be liked so to speak. This is a different place now, and I’m different too, but it took me stepping away, having a child, and being placed in a new and uncomfortable role for me to gain confidence in holding boundaries that aren’t always ‘liked’.

Emily T.

  • I (and Brains on Fire) value honesty and respect. So I honor that first in how I engage with others — likeable or not.

Kim

  • [I] am a big believer in trying to be kind at work… I’ve learned that if I’m policed or penalized for that, it’s best to just move on to a new workplace.

Gaelyn

  • I think the fact that 85% of the time I am a very kind, understanding and empathetic person goes a long way. If I have to be unlikeable, my hope is that it’s clear that the situation warranted it, and it’s not a reflection of my personality at large.

Natalie

  • Vulnerability and emotional awareness are two things that I strive to bring to the table. I assert with empathy, curiosity and calling out the bias when I see it.

Emily N.

  • I’ve specifically chosen workplaces and careers where likability is an advantage rather than disadvantage. There are ways to navigate being likable that build trust rather than inaccurately reflect incompetence. While that does come with the need to create firm boundaries, it has helped me in the long run.

Question: As a leader at Brains on Fire, how do you stay mindful of who’s at the table and who’s missing?

Drue

  • Supporting and championing diversity is an area that will always have room for improvement, but it is incredibly important we keep this at the top of our values. Democratizing design will lead to more effective work and make us better humans. This can be achieved through the people we hire, the brands we partner with and the clients we choose to work with. I believe the best work comes when everyone has a seat at the table in our industry.

Laura

  • I actually think it’s quite simple: When you know the value of diversity, you’re acutely aware when it’s missing. When you know the sheer necessity of it, you feel the urgency to make it a top priority.

Meg

  • Asking myself the question, who could offer a unique point of view here? In leading teams/projects, I try to make sure every team member has the space to offer insight/observation/opinion. Especially at BoF, everyone has a seat at the table and every opinion matters so it’s important to create the space and opportunity for everyone to express theirs.

Emma

  • I’ve been left out of a lot of high level conversations at previous jobs because of my age or gender, so that’s something I’m particularly conscious of here. I think diversity (in position, age, gender, background) only makes the work stronger and brings more unique perspectives to the table.

Blythe

  • Awareness. Be aware of the fact that hearing from the same kind of person just leads to the same kind of conversation.

Anusha

  • There are many women at the table, and I feel that they’re valued and respected.

Mary Susan

  • I think this is commonplace conversation for us now. we’re all aware, and able to voice that.

Emily T.

  • Great question and I think we are still growing here. As we formalize and improve our leadership structure, we always have to ask ourselves about sustainability. How do we keep this going as we grow more and more? And for me, that’s the moment to pause and reflect on who we can make more space for — at the table and in their own roles.

Kim

  • Hmm. That’s a big question! I don’t know that I’ve done a terrific job of that. I’m thinking back to the DEI conference we attended, and the talks on accessibility, as an example. I think I’ve had good intentions, but we haven’t made it as high a priority as it should be.

Gaelyn

  • To be honest this can be hard. It takes ongoing active awareness. We notice team members who may need more of a nudge to raise their voice and do our best to help support them in that growth. Being a B-Corp also really helps hold us accountable in a larger sense like our hiring process and who we are inviting to the table to begin with.

Natalie

  • Our team has grown and expanded to include remote working styles. With this, we have a greater opportunity, and responsibility, to reach and work with people from all backgrounds. As a woman of color who hardly sees herself represented, I’m glad to be witnessing positive changes in our industry and seeing others tell their stories on their own terms. However, there are many experiences still not yet told. Representation matters. I’ve learned that even if it’s just you at the table, you have the power to create your own rules and build opportunities.

Emily N.

  • At the end of the day, we want to prevent groupthink. That means making sure that there is a diverse group of people at the table with different backgrounds, including gender, racial, sexual orientation, age, socioeconomic or geographical, among others. You can’t simply check a quota box to get certain groups in the door. You have to work with them as individuals so they feel empowered to bring their best skills and unique perspectives to the table.

Question: What is a positive, individualized mentorship experience you experienced from a fellow woman leader?

Drue

  • I was fortunate to begin my career at Willoughby Design where women in leadership had always been a foundation of their design practice. It is here that I had invaluable mentorship experiences under Ann Willoughby, Jessica Carpenter, Nicole Satterwhite, Lindsay Laricks, and many other women. The mentorship these women provided are irreplaceable in both my personal and design journey. Almost every opportunity I had at the start of my design career was from a woman in design opening a door for me. When women support other women, amazing things can happen.

Meg

  • I had a woman boss a few years into my career after working under an all male leadership team. She had a huge impact on me personally and professionally. I credit her with teaching me so many valuable things — about myself, our work, and outlook on life. She taught me what it means to be mentally tough, have a valuable voice, and that failure is part of growth.

Emma

  • I had a co-worker at a previous job who was 7 years older than me and, though she wasn’t my direct manager, she really took me under her wing. She always pushed for me to be reaching my potential, fighting for a better title and the raise I deserved. She’d encourage me to speak up on projects I wanted to be a part of, and she took the time to connect me to her friends in various other industries that could offer my advice and guidance when I was feeling lost at work. She’s now one of my close friends and I’m so thankful for her championing me on in my career.

Anusha

  • Amy has been my manager/mentor so far during the internship. She asks me lots of questions and she wants to hear the good and the not-so-good. She also provides a lot of feedback and resources based on my unique interests.

Mary Susan

  • My experience of being trained by Emily, and then taking over in her absence was extremely positive. She let me into her world, modeled and repeated it for me, and then gave me the reins to make it my own, on my own. This experience was a huge boost to my skills and confidence as an employee.

Emily T.

  • Early in my career, I got to work on a large client alongside another strategic consultant who was just a badass professional in her own right. Being able to see and collaborate with someone who was just unapologetically competent, professional and seemingly self-assured was amazing. I soaked it up, and honestly it formed a lot of the behaviors and tactics that I still fall back on in challenging leadership moments.

Kim

  • I’m really enjoying the weekly 1:1s here! It’s nice to feel like I can share what I’m experiencing, without having to worry that I’m coming across as wimpy, or overthinking.

Gaelyn

  • It’s maybe a bit general, but early on in my career I worked under a female studio co-owner. She was a good example in that she was kind, charismatic and likable but she definitely meant business and could be strict and no nonsense when the time called for it.

Natalie

  • My positive experiences with women leaders have often shared these common threads: They were thoughtful to seek my point of view. They reassured me that my perspective was valuable, regardless of anyone’s agreement or approval. They always told me to fight and trust my gut; to never accept a poor situation.

Emily N.

  • I’ve had one of the most wonderful woman mentors in my life. She’s gone very far in her career and always treats everyone with respect and kindness. She is an incredible listener and remembers small details about the people she meets. These are all traits that we can bring to any interaction, whether we are “leaders” or not. By cultivating soft skills, any person will be ready for leadership when the time comes. Empathetic leaders are our best chance for a workplace people want to be a part of.

Question: How can women support other women in their organizations?

Drue

  • The most simple step is for women to advocate for each other at work. This becomes easier when women are in leadership roles and can put values into action by influencing salaries, titles, and work/life balance. Women at any place in their career path can also support each other by educating themselves on the barriers to women in our industry and seeking out the mentorship of other women in our industry. For opportunities to connect with women outside of your workplace, there are mentorship programs through AIGA in addition to groups like Ladies, Wine & Design that can provide connection and insight for women and & non-binary people in our industry. We are fortunate to be in an industry that is making great strides and full of supportive women who are eager to share their wisdom.

Laura

  • Champion their strengths. Recognize the hard work. Celebrate success. Call out the good. When you disagree, do so with respect. We’ve got enough tearing us down, we need to be intentional about building each other up.

Meg

  • Champion all the roles and titles we carry equally: employee, creative, mother, daughter, friend, leader, etc. Learn about them and what they value and why. What we value affects how we view the world — including our work.

Emma

  • Check in, lift each other up, trade success stories (and learn from each other’s failures), make time for each other on a personal level, always be pushing each other to reach their maximum potential, speak up when you see someone mistreated or if you think they should be considered for a particular role or project, share words of affirmation.

Blythe

  • I think women need to remember their personal struggles inside an organization and reflect on those struggles when working with other women. We all started somewhere. Remember how difficult those beginning times were and give grace to other women trying to make a place for themselves in the workplace.

Anusha

  • Notice when women aren’t able to contribute or are being talked over and make an effort to create space for them to voice their thoughts.

Mary Susan

  • One of my favorite parts of BoF atm: our #mommastrong channel in slack. We share funny things, we share our failures, we seek advice. It’s the best thing.

Emily T.

  • Point and call out situations that need attention — even at a micro level. Did she just do something incredible? Give a shout out. Did someone just overlook or interrupt her? Invite her to voice it again. Should a decision include additional perspectives? Bring it to a bigger group including her. Sometimes it’s hard or fatiguing to keep doing these things for yourself (not to mention that likeability factor if you have to keep tooting your own horn!). Jump in for one another.

Kim

  • By leaving space for us all to be human!

Gaelyn

  • In leadership it may look like, flagging women for promotions who may be scared to ask. For peers it may mean prompting a female colleague to chime in at a meeting. This is always especially appreciated from men. When men help repeat an idea and clearly attribute it to a female coworker it helps to amplify our contributions. Same goes for helping a woman in a meeting who may get cut off. Lord knows I’m guilty of accidentally speaking over someone in a meeting and that has nothing to do with gender, BUT for some women just starting to speak in a meeting is challenging enough. So when a peer can say, “I wanted to hear what Susan was going to say” or “I’m sorry, I think you got cut off Susan, what were you going to say?” It doesn’t go unnoticed.

Natalie

  • Create belonging. Be intentional to make your own relationships outside of “mandatory fun” outings. Be their advocate. When they share their ideas in a meeting, help turn their ideas into actions. Be empathetic.

Emily N.

  • Encouragement. It can be difficult to speak up in large group settings. Having one on one conversations can be just the bit of air a small ember of an idea needs to be set on fire. When women are set on fire with their ideas — watch out because good things are coming!

Question: What advice would you give your 25-year-old self?

Drue

  • As a 25 year old designer, there were many times I did not speak up when I should have. Your creative perspective is valuable and you should trust your instincts.

Meg

  • You’re not going to always get it right. But there is so much to learn in the not getting it right. Take calculated risks. Be brave enough to fail, because failure creates opportunity to grow. Also. Use all your vacation. Work will always be there. :)

Emma

  • Be confident but not cocky. Know your worth and don’t settle for less. Don’t be scared to have the hard conversations about title changes and raises. Speak up if a situation makes you uncomfortable. Don’t bite off more than you can chew just to “prove yourself.” Burnout is real! Honor your limits but don’t be afraid to go after what you really want. Ask lots and lots of questions.

Blythe

  • Stop being so nice. Stick up for yourself.

Anusha

  • 25-year-old me is in the future, so I hope that when I am 25, I’m still being inspired by and learning from the women around me. I want to tell my 25-year-old self to be unapologetically herself and make sure she is seen and heard.

Mary Susan

  • Be willing to try, and try a variety of things. Hang in with the discomfort — it will change you.

Emily T.

  • Be your own strength. Being loud and assertive is someone’s version of leadership, but it doesn’t have to be yours. Quiet, patient and consistent can get it done too.

Kim

  • You’re smarter than you think you are.

Gaelyn

  • Tater tots are not a meal.

Natalie

  • Stop asking questions. Just f — ing go for it.

Emily N.

  • Listen to your gut. If something doesn’t feel right, it probably isn’t right.

Question: What advice would you give to young women entering this profession/organization?

Drue

  • I would encourage young women to seek out mentorship, learn to be an advocate for yourself, prioritize your mental health, and treat every opportunity as a learning experience.

Laura

  • Find your voice, learn to use it.

Meg

  • Collaborate. Know your skills and be proud of them but look for ways to push yourself by learning from others.

Emma

  • New viewpoints are always important, so don’t be scared to speak up in meetings (even if it’s a pretty male-dominated meeting). Lead with openness and tenderness but don’t worry about being “likable” all the time.

Blythe

  • Your time and your brain are valuable. Don’t let anyone take advantage of those 2 things.

Anusha

  • Don’t let anyone tell you to keep your head down and follow a specific path. You can pursue whatever you want, and you will find success.

Mary Susan

  • Seek out other women, and just go for it!

Emily T.

  • Find your village. It’s an obvious piece of advice, but a critical one, I think. I’m where I am personally and professionally thanks to the support of the women that know me best and have my back.

Kim

  • Be kind to yourself, and everyone around you.

Gaelyn

  • If you have a female leader and you are interested in becoming so yourself, actively seek out advice or bend their ear. I would rarely think to share unsolicited advice, but I am always happy to answer all the questions and help someone trying to figure out their path. Don’t assume that because someone is busy they won’t make time to help. Asking uncomfortable questions is one step towards stepping into your power.

Natalie

  • Have experiences that invoke creativity and fulfillment separate from work. Go where you’re celebrated as you are. Don’t hold back.

Emily N.

  • Lead with kindness and empathy. Your clients, coworkers and bosses will notice and it will serve you in the long run. If it doesn’t, then it’s not the right place for you.

--

--