Photo by Hunter Newton on Unsplash

A Few Things About Relationships

Or the advices I wish I knew before

Stephie Neuman
3 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Growing up, I never had good relationships to look at. What was not completely broken, needed some adjustment, that over time made it so fragile it made me scared. I have always seen things I thought that could change or become way better if both parts were willing to reevaluate their behaviors as a couple.

Love isn’t hard, I belive. But relationships are.
If you don’t take care of it, it breaks really fast.

Here are a few advices I’d like to share with you, if you’re in a relationship or thinking about starting one. These are the things I wish someone have told me before. I had to break my face many times ’til I learned it.

Hope you appreciate it.

Bring your hearts together, always. Even when you disagree.

Relationships are formed by two people who choose each other every day. It’s a daily thing. Strive to understand and love your partner, even when things get hard, even when it’s difficult, even when you look at the person you love and understand nothing about how they’re reacting towards something.

Grey’s Anatomy has a cute line in which Meredith says to Derek Shepherd, “Promise to love me even when you hate me”. Hating is quite too strong, but I hope you get what I mean. ;)

Let them know you’re there for them. Let them know they’re loved, wanted and desired, and you truly wish to understand them.

Even if it comes down to a fight (I would appreciate you to keep only on the scale of disagreement), let them know you still love them and is open to sort things out — because even when things get bad you still choose them.

Never go to sleep mad at each other.

If you ever find yourself really sad or disappointed to your beloved, talk to them. Don’t say things with a warm head, take your time if necessary. But never sleep without being well settled with your partner. Talk about how you feel.

Never blame the other person, but say how you feel about that situation and, again, show that you love and care.

Don’t hide your feelings.

Unresolved feelings become big snowballs over time, and it highly impact our relationships. Talk about how you feel, whether it’s good or bad. Put things out from your chest — always with kindness.

For a relationship to grow strong, you have to be intentional.

You don’t just let life take care of your relationship as if you have no control. You wake up every day decided to show that person you love and you care for them. You make each day something special, as ordinary as it may seem.

Understand each other’s love languages. Be intentional in your life as a couple.

Sometimes just being there will mean everything.

Some of us aren’t that good with words. Some of us don’t know how to show how we feel. At times, just being there will serve well.

Spend quality time with those who you love, show that you care.

Have more advices? Share them with me on comments! :)

--

--

Stephie Neuman

Community Manager at Ubisoft Brasil and secret DedSec member. Former journalist. Talkative nerd that constantly travels in time and space. Opinions on my own.