Four Ways Companies Create Consumers

Brian Sooy
Everybody Brands
Published in
2 min readAug 10, 2022

I wrote down four words in 2014:

  • Curiosity
  • Challenge
  • Commitment
  • Courage

The idea is that companies need followers (aka consumers) who sustain a brand.

You might recognize this pattern. It’s ancient. It’s also a classic consumer journey.

I first saw this pattern in the Bible when I read about Jesus, who noticed some people fishing from a beach and said, “Follow me.” Those people experienced these four dimensions in their interactions (not necessarily in this order)

  • Curiosity (Who is this?)
  • Challenge (Come and see)
  • Commitment (Follow)
  • Confidence (Take action and become something greater)

When you share a clear and compelling story about your vision of the future, it

  • Attracts the curious,
  • Challenges the enlightened,
  • Calls people to commit, and
  • Compels them to follow and act.

When you think about it, it’s how brands are formed. Something makes us curious (how do I solve this problem or achieve this goal?), which leads to interest (Could this be the solution I’ve been searching for?).

The challenge leads to a commitment (follow, buy, give, act) and an invitation where the brand and follower walk together.

Where people enter this journey depends on how people hear about your product or service.

Brand building is relational, where the brand builder and brand owner walk together.

It doesn’t mean I want a relationship with a brand. That’s ridiculous. People have relationships with people, not brands.

Buying a product from a brand does not mean I want a lifelong relationship with a customer service department or company.

Creative professionals make a lot of assumptions about brand building with the idea that “the brand” is what matters to consumers.

Here’s the truth: People care about solving problems, achieving goals, being independent, loved, accepted, and involved. People desire safety, security, and being in control. People care about convenience, saving money, and status.

I know this model isn’t perfect. When I write about it, it helps me work through what I’m thinking.

You can help!

Share your thoughts here and let’s think work it together 👇

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Brian Sooy
Everybody Brands

Agency Owner @aespire | Brand Architect | StoryBrand Certified | author http://amzn.to/2t2JHIQ