The art of printing has always blown my mind…

allison.spiegel
Brand Studio 2019
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2019

I’ve always been intrigued by printing. Having a work you create digitally finally coming to life in a tangle, hold-able material is so satisfying. I worked at a start-up in Denver, Colorado for two year where printing was a huge part of my process.

How does printing work though? Layers. All the layers.

Printing ink onto paper with a machine, such as a Xerox Printer, uses four colors — CMYK. Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and Black are the foundation of printing.

I’ve always wanted to do a project relating to this concept. That’s where CMY | A Poster Company came in. CMY provides beautiful quality, acid-free paper, that will last a lifetime. These timeless posters, printed on thick, durable matte paper are perfect for any music lover or movie buff. CMY is a wall art lover’s dream.

CMY’s focal audience ranges from hipsters and fanatics alike. These posters are perfect for any tech-savvy individual who is pumped enough to buy wall art related to things they love. Whether it’s a specific band, movie, or region, CMY has what you’re looking for.

I want the brand to speak for itself when it comes to aesthetic. I want there to be bold color, layering, and a nice balance of white space too. I’d love to incorporate Cyan, Magenta, and Yellow (100% of each) as the main brand colors; along with black and white to balance those out.

Here was some of my inspiration.

I’m excited to see how this new project unfolds!

--

--