What inspires me as a designer

allison.spiegel
Brand Studio 2019
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2019

My biggest inspiration has always been the world around me. Whether it’s being outside or surrounding myself with people I love, it’s safe to say my surroundings are my biggest influences.

I’m also very inspired by the design world specifically. The design world is constantly changing, growing, moving. Something that is “on trend” or “bold & new” this year might be completely different the next and that’s super rad. The components of the design world, the designers, are the biggest part though. I always look to other designers for influence.

quote by Paul Rand

My two favorite designers right now are Jessica Hische and Stefan Sagmeister. Why Jessica? Because her work is FLAWLESS! She brings typography to life in such a beautiful way. Her work is very original, which I feel like is tough to do, especially with type, and makes a statement without being too much.

Stefan Stagmeister is the complete opposite and I love him for it. He’s bold, totally out there, and has a killer shock value. My favorite work of his that REALLY made a statement was his promotional piece for an AIGA event in the late 1990’s. He went so far as to carve the event information into his body.

What I’ve learned from these two? Go the extra mile.

--

--