10 More Reasons Why Amitabh Bachchan is More Than A Legend

Shyam Swaraj
BrandBull
Published in
3 min readJul 21, 2017
Amitabh Bachchan’s Top 10 Rules For Success (@SrBachchan) by Evan Carmichael

I love what Evan Carmichael does. He celebrates every star whose words are worth imbibing as rules and very beautifully lays them down to everyone’s understanding. And I like most of his videos and watch them regularly.

What doubled my respect for him, today, is seeing someone I epitomize, Amitabh Bacchan (@SrBachchan), being featured on his channel. I salute Evan Carmichael for this and offer to reveal a few very interesting things that happened to me in connection to this great man.

FIRST THINGS FIRST

My Personal Favorite of the Rules enlisted, is:
ACCEPT THE STRUGGLE

And I have heard his stories where he has gone beyond his comfort zone to enact certain roles and watched most of his performances which have been not just powerful but also impactful. And the most amazing memory I have is of having seen this SuperHero in person at an arm’s length (all thanks to Techenveshi — who took me to the LG G3 Launch in Mehboob Sudios in Bombay). I have felt his aura and the only thing I hate about myself, was me not having that courage to go up to him and express the huge adoration I have for him.

FATHER FIGURE

I love him for many a reason. His on screen and off screen presence were very instrumental in making a huge impact in my life.

One such reason is that I see my father in him. Every time I hear him speak, I feel like his baritone was a sermon directed to me. As if my father was talking to me or preaching me something. This might sound weird. Then again, that is me and I am unapologetic about that.

MY LESSONS FROM HIS DIALOGUES (Part)

  1. “Main Aur Meri Tanhai, Aksar Yeh Baatein Karte Hai”
    Transliteration = “Me And My Loneliness, Talk Often To Each Other”
    And this I understood as ‘Introspection is Important’.
  2. “Sawaal Jis Zabaan Mein Kiya Jaye, Jawab Us Hi Zabaan Mein Dena Chahiye”
    Translation = “You should answer in the same language you were questioned in”
    And I interpreted it as ‘Always Give people what they deserve’.
  3. “Mujhe jo sahi lagta hai main karta hoon, fir chahe wo bhagwan ke khilaaf ho, kanoon ke khilaf ho ya pure system ke khilaaf”
    Translation = “I do what I think is right, even if it is against the lord, the law or the entire system”
    And I learnt how important it was to ‘Be Certain’.
  4. “Main aaj bhi phenke hue paise nahin uthata”
    Translation = “Even to this day I don’t pick money that’s thrown at me”
    And this taught me: ‘Earn Your Right’.
  5. “Aaj aapke paas aapki saari daulat sahi, lekin aapse bada garib maine zindagi main nahi dekha.”
    Translation = “Today you have all the wealth, in spite of that you are the poorest guy I have seen in my life”
    And from this came my learning of ‘Happiness is the biggest wealth’.

TO CONCLUDE

There are many others, however that is for another day. Amitabh Bacchan is a legend, no doubt, however, for me he is much more than that and I connect with the idea of him at a totally different level.

If you have a favorite of his and wish to discuss, I encourage you to leave me a comment and I am always open to include it into my article in a special section with due respect to and mention of you. More the fans, the merrier it will be. So, C’mon! Speak Up and leave me your favorite experience with him or his performances. :)

--

--

Shyam Swaraj
BrandBull

HarvardX Certified | 3x Entrepreneur | Media Interviewer | Technology Enthusiast