Brapp Artist Highlight: MC Jumanji

Raad Haider
Brapp News
Published in
6 min readJul 19, 2016

When we soft launched Brapp back in September 2015, we had just a handful of friends, artists and producers who so kindly supported us by jumping on the app, throwing up some beats and recording those early Brapp videos. Granted the first version of the app had more modest features and some bugs to work out, it was a pretty solid working model. Amidst its humble beginnings, there were a few talented cats that immediately clicked with what Brapp was all about and how to use it. Not only did this reassure us that what we had built was working, but their input and creativity raised the bar demonstrating what could be done in the app and how effective a tool it could be to reach new audiences.

One particular artist who grabbed our attention was a Miami-based MC by the name of Calvin Cyrus, aka MC Jumanji. No stranger to capturing an audience, having previous stints as a comedian and TV actor, Jumanji quickly rose through the ranks of Miami lyricists by performing stage-shows, freestyles and rap battles, earning him a reputation as one of the Top Ten underground hip hop acts in Miami.

Starting out as a Hip Hop and DnB MC, Jumanji was soon turned on to UK Grime by DJ and label owner Juan Basshead of Basshead Music. He was hooked; instantly immersing himself in the art of Grime lyricism. He’s since gone on to bless stages all over the US and UK alongside longtime collaborator Juan and a host of globally respected DJs.

With an unwavering passion for UK Grime — which has seen more international growth in recent years — Jumanji has dedicated himself to representing and expanding the culture stateside, pushing the #AmericanGrime. He’s released two EP’s, King of American Grime and his follow-up American Grime: The Take Over EP which feature collaborations with Shiverz Da Butcher of Monsters, Molecule of Dub Factory Recordings, Argyle Bixby of Eloquence Music and Benzmixer of Arcane Records. His other collaborations include Cotti of SumTing New, Web Three, Little Dee of the OGz, Korin Complex and Fill Spectre of Gourmet Beats Records; the latter having caught some attention when it was featured on London-based YouTube channel The Grime Report. Jumanji also hosts and curates the American Grime podcast available to stream on iTunes and Mixcloud.

To extend our gratitude and support we caught up with MC Jumanji to bring you a little more insight into the Grime ambassador.

“American Grime freestyle” — MC Jumanji (instrumental by Fill Spectre)

How did you get into music?

“My mom was a huge influence in music for me. From the Isley Brothers, Al Green, Teena Marie and Prince, to EMPD, LL Cool J, Eric B and Rakim. I actually started by beatboxing for the freestylers around me. One day I just decided I could spit bars if I set my mind to it and started rapping…haven’t looked back since.”

How and when did you get in to Grime?

“About 10 years ago, I was a DnB MC in South Florida. I ran into this DJ called Juan Basshead, the founder of Miami label Basshead Music. He said to me “This DnB stuff is great, but learn how to rap to Dubstep and we can go far bro”. He suggested I listen to Grime, since both Grime and Dubstep are 140bpm. I jumped deep into the classic stuff like Wiley, Kano, Crazy Titch and Tinchy. I saw kids like Chipmunk and Ice Kid, watched videos of Tim Westwood TV and immersed myself in everything Grime. The clash between Ghetts and Bashy was classic. I just remember grabbing a pen and paper and trying to put down the hardest bars. I knew I wanted to do Grime. I didn’t care about my accent or who would hear it. I just knew it was me.”

What’s your take on the state of Grime in America?

“The movement has slowly but surely started to take hold stateside. In different cities, there’s pockets of dedicated fans, like what was popping off in Austin during SXSW. Drake has definitely been a force in getting attention for Grime outside of the raves, but Stormzy and Skepta have done real work in bringing out new fans. I think American music fans have been looking for more substance in their music. They’re looking for something different and fresh. I believe Grime is the answer.”

What kind of music are you making right now?

“Right now I’m pushing the Grime sound. But I find myself at a funny place. I’m too American for the UK Grime scene, and Grime, as it is right now, is too UK for the American scene. I find it liberating. There’s a freedom to not fitting in. I think that’s helped my sound be organic and I’ve seen a lot of growth from it. I have Hip Hop tunes, I have Dubstep tunes. Like Juan Basshead always says, there’s only two types of music: good music and bad music. So I’m just making good music.”

Who have you worked with?

“I’ve gotten lucky with the amount of different artists that I’ve been able to work with. Benzino from Love & HipHop did a track over a Zeds Dead tune called “Outta Space” released on his I AM CAESAR mixtape. Benzmixer from Savage Society has been contributing beats to me; same with Lewi B from LOTM records. Sick producers those boys. I’ve done a couple of tunes for Sub Freq Records with Chefal and Bluesy. It was a big look to collab with LDN legends like them. Cotti from SumTing New has been collabing with me on some tunes, so look out for that coming soon!”

Any projects in the pipeline?

“The pipeline includes tunes with Little Dee from the OGz, a Benzmixer release with a VIP remix, an upcoming EP and a full length album to follow. I’m also putting together tracks for an American Grime MC compilation. I’m really trying to take charge and push the American movement. I’m always looking for collabs. I’ll be featured on WebThree’s next release on a track called “Silence” and I have a couple of tunes sent over to Nightmare & Oni for release as well. Been putting in a lot of work.”

What are you listening to at the moment?

“My listening tastes are usually all over the place, but right now I’m reaching in to the Grime bag - Sox, Jammz, because his bars are sick and he produces his beats, and AJ Tracey who’s smashing it right now. Tre Mission in Canada is going in. I like that a lot of the old heads are coming back like Ghetts, Wiley, and OGz are kicking up again. Skepta is smashing the ting. Chase & Status pushing Grime hard as well. I’m just enjoying the entire Grime resurgence. It’s getting the respect it deserves.”

What‘s your take on Brapp?

“Honestly, I love being able to reach out directly to vocalists and producers; the way you get to hear their new projects and submit a demo directly to them. It’s like a record label studio and A&R tool that fits in your pocket. Nowhere else do you get direct access to an artist and their work and be able to interact with it, all in one spot.”

Have you connected and worked with anyone through Brapp?

Polonis and I have a track with MC Twisty being worked on. That’s a fire connection right there. And I have something for Jyager as well. Just saw that man in the London Eye smoking spliffs with 10 of his boys that got millions of views on WorldStar. Hilarious. Love the connects.”

Are there any artists you would like to collab with?

“I’ve been dying to collab with FuntCase. Sick beats always. He has a great energy to his shows and seems like he cranks out a lot of material.”

Can you suggest an artist/producer on Brapp we should follow?

ShayD is absolutely fire. Her swagger and lyricism are on point! If she’s reading this, I’d like a collab with her as well.”

You can hear more from MC Jumanji at brapp.tv/mcjumanji and support him here:

mcjumanji.com
facebook.com/JumanjiMusic
twitter.com/mcjumanji
instagram.com/mcjumanji/
youtube.com/user/JumanJi305
soundcloud.com/mcjumanji

Brapp® is an app that puts a powerful studio in your pocket. Producers can upload beats and anyone can record 1 minute videos on top, mix down the audio with powerful studio effects, add video filters and instantly share with their followers.

Get the App at brapp.tv/app or upload your beats at brapp.tv

--

--