Rihanna’s Diana Ross & Donna Summer Inspired Hairstyle 2018

Kayla Jefferson
(re)Thinking + (un)Learning
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

On Jan 28th, 2018, Rihanna’s hairstylist Yusef Williams, created her Diana Ross and Donna Summer inspired look for Rihanna’s performance at the 60th Annual Grammy Awards. Yusef Williams even added a flower piece on the side to make the hairstyle more dreamy and natural. Society tends to identify people with this type of hairstyle as someone who is African American or a person of color. However, this is not the case and just a common stereotype. According to Lopez (1994) race was constructed based on phenotypic differences and characteristics such as hair, complexion, eyes, nose etc. In society, this rule still applies today. Most people stereotype African Americans by saying, “African American hair is coarse and short while other races have longer and finer textures of hair.” This does not apply to ALL individuals who identify within this racial category as my mother, who is African American, has long fine hair. People constantly determine other people’s race just by the way they look and create stereotypes that can be hurtful. Williams goes on to say, “I love this look and hope to see more women, especially African American women, be more free with their hair and less afraid to have natural curls” (Saunders). I am African American woman and prefer to wear my hair natural. I have been told that my hair wasn’t straight enough or long enough, which made me feel ashamed and insecure about my hair. I can’t change my identity, especially my hair texture. Seeing well known celebrities like Rihanna, embracing styles that illustrate the versatility of African American women’s hair, helps me and hopefully other African American women gain confidence about their hair. Solange Knowles even came out with a song called “Don’t Touch My Hair” which expressed how everyone should accept and embrace their natural hair. Social media and new hair line companies that promote natural hair recently have been increasing and coming out with more products catered to women with natural hair, to help love it and never be afraid to rock it.

--

--