Home

Mysticmistica
Break from Reality
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2022

a poem by a.m.

Photo by Yener Ozturk on Unsplash

he came to me, a refugee, in need of a place to stay,

happily, i offered all that i was to create shelter,

falling into my body quicker than expected,

disconcerted with time.

full of warmth and certainty,

my stomach nurtured his wounds,

fascinated by the freckles painted across his cheeks,

finding beauty in mere biology,

he became my muse, picking through my mind,

lacing each passing thought.

slowly, invading my identity,

the heat on my skin,

the crack in my voice,

the bend of my side,

willingly, i belonged to him.

years passed and interest escaped his once golden eyes,

on nights he was absent, my lungs couldn’t bare air alone,

i was foreign to myself, rejecting the distance between us,

my limbs were glass just waiting to shatter.

abandoned, my body refused to hold space,

neglected and torn, she plead to be heard,

through muffled warnings, all i could see was him,

carelessly gambling what remained,

in hopes that risk may reap reward.

‘goodbye’ was never said, no notice waited at the door,

his things hung like antiques holding quiet memories,

a garden of hushed promises, forgotten, as the seasons changed,

my body lay, vacant, still,

dismissing calls for company, i consumed the emptiness.

without gratitude sent for my generosity,

he simply found a new home to bury himself in.

--

--

Mysticmistica
Break from Reality

Welcome to the marvel that is my brain. If you enjoy depressing, dramatic poetry, then my page is for you. Enjoy your stay :)