I’m a Survivor, Not a Thriver

Alecia Kennedy
Breaking All The Rules
6 min readDec 31, 2023

--

And I’m trying to change that

When did this little girl learn to settle? Author’s picture with her mom circa 1971

Earlier this week, I had the garbage disposal removed from my kitchen sink. It had not worked since I bought my house two years ago, and when the dishwasher stop draining, it never occurred to me that the garbage disposal was to blame.

For two years, almost every time I have used my dishwasher (which is several times a week), water would back up in one side of my sink during the rinse and drain cycle. It was an annoyance, but I figured that it was a plumbing issue that I would deal with when it became too bad to ignore.

Then right before Thanksgiving, my dishwasher just stopped draining. A error code popped up and nothing I did seemed to help. I was annoyed that the dishwasher was screwing up when it was still fairly new and further annoyed that the manufacturer’s warranty had already expired. But after a few days of hand-washing every dirty dish, I broke down and called an appliance repair service. Within 10 minutes after arriving, the technician told me that absolutely nothing was wrong with my dishwasher, but it drained into the non-working garbage disposal and the disposal had finally become so clogged that my dishwasher wouldn’t drain.

I had the garbage disposal removed for a fairly inexpensive price (compared to the plumbing problem I thought I had), and now I have a working…

--

--