It’s Not About The Money, Until It Is

Alecia Kennedy
Breaking All The Rules
5 min readFeb 7, 2020

--

Photo by Nik MacMillan on Unsplash

In my twenties, I dated a man eight years my senior. I had never dated anyone that much older, and at that age, the differences were pronounced. He and his friends were further along in their careers and they all seemed to make loads more money than I did. They owned while I rented. They scored VIP boxes while I sat in the nosebleeds. Their cars were new, their clothes had designer names, and their purses were an investment.

They spent more on Sunday brunch than I spent for a week’s worth of groceries.

In truth, it’s difficult being the poorest person in the room. It can get to you if you let it. It can make you feel less than. It can make you self-conscious. But it shouldn’t, and what I’ve learned since then has since helped me navigate situations where there is a marked difference in wealth between friends and acquaintances. How do you explain you can’t go on a vacation because you can’t afford it? How do you handle awkward situations like splitting the check for dinner or deciding you can’t attend an important event because of money? I have been on both sides of the wealth divide since first dating the older boyfriend and here is what I’ve learned:

  1. Remember your worth. We are not our money. There is a reason your friends want to hang out with you and it has nothing to do with your job or how much money you make. When you are…

--

--