More Tools to Improve Your Writing

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

Oct 21, 2020

Find me every Saturday morning at 11:00 am EST on The Writing Cooperative sharing my “Writer’s Toolkit”

I talk about tools a lot on Breakout Writing. Now I’ll be sharing some of those specifics over on The Writing Cooperative, in a new weekly series. I hope you’ll join me over there.

The first story in the series is all about how and when to use the pronoun I.

You’ve heard it before, “Be careful using I too frequently in your writing.” We can all agree it’s the proper pronoun when you write first-person fiction or essays, but even in those writing formats, overuse can push readers away. It’s tempting to avoid using it altogether in other formats, but that might be a mistake because I has advantages no other pronoun can claim.

Continue reading

And an exclusive sneak peek at this Saturday’s story:

4 Templates You Can Use Right Now to Improve Your Articles
And 3 you need to ditch if you plan to move forward

If you’re a member of my newsletter, Picking the Locks, I’ll shoot you an email with the link when that one goes live.

Happy writing Wednesday!
Melinda

--

--

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/