My Writing is Worth $100 Per Hour and It’s AI Proof

Yours can be too with this plan.

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing

--

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I don’t write for less than $100 per hour — and I have all the work I want. My goal is to get my minimum hourly rate even higher. I also AI-proof my work. Don’t read that wrong. I’m not talking about using AI to proofread my work (which I do). When I say my writing is AI proof, I mean that it is so much better than what an editor could get from AI, it’s laughable for them to even think of choosing AI over my work, at any cost.

My $100 per hour writing is mostly freelance journalism now, but I have also done freelance web content work for that amount, and I don’t spend time writing on blogs or platforms unless I know I can earn my rate. I fully expect this story to earn a minimum of $100 per hour. There’s a clock ticking away on my computer as I type, so let’s start with that.

Rule Number One for Earning $100 Per Hour for Your Writing: Use a Timer

I resisted doing this for most of three decades. I think somewhere in the back of my head it felt like an injustice to the work itself to worry about how long it took me to generate it. But you want to know what happened immediately when I started using a timer? I typed faster. I researched faster. And here’s the big one: My writing…

--

--

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/