BYOB Writing Challenge

What I’m Doing This Month So That Next Month I Can Write a Novel

You may be surprised how I’m spending some of my time

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing
Published in
5 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Hang onto your granny panties. Next month I’m writing a short novel. One blog post at a time.

I am participating in the BYOB (Blog Your Own Book) Challenge hosted on The Write Brain by founder Shaunta Grimes. Here are the details of the challenge if you are interested.

For me, this challenge is a particular stretch. I have been a non-fiction writer for more than thirty years, as in, I do it for a living. I have written four non-fiction guidebooks and thousands of articles on travel spread across both print and online publications.

I wrote about the possibility of writing a book in published pieces last fall, including some of what I thought could go wrong. I am about to spend a few months fact-checking all of what I said here.

--

--

Melinda Crow
Breakout Writing

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/