5 Food and Cooking Hacks That I Forgot My Mom Taught Me

Asian moms are like magicians in the kitchen, cooking up a storm without the thunder and lightning

Katharine Chan
Breakthrough
Published in
9 min readAug 21, 2020

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

As a mother of 2 with a husband who has a stomach the size of a basketball player inside a small Chinese man, I cook A LOT!

One day as I was restocking my pantry, I glance at the items and I realized it looks almost identical to the ones I grew up with. I had unknowingly cloned my childhood tastes and flavours into my own household.

And who was responsible for that when I was growing up? My mom.

Here’s an ode to my mom…with a couple of recipes included

Like that Chinese song…

In This World, Only Mama Is Good. “世上只有妈妈好”

1. COP (Carrots/Celery, Onions and Potatoes)

Root vegetables are hardy and they can stay in your crisper for a fairly long time before they start to go bad. That’s why I always have these in my fridge, to bulk up any dish with some fibre and vitamins.

I put a slash between carrots and celery because currently, celery is ridiculously expensive. I think there was a recent health craze about the magic of celery in solving everyone’s problems.

--

--

Katharine Chan
Breakthrough

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books