My Present and Future Goals

Brett Monson
Brett Monson
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2018

My Letter of Intent to the Digital Media Department at Utah Valley University

I am Brett Monson and I am currently studying in the field of Interaction Design at Utah Valley University. My educational path started in the Criminal Justice field which is where I thought it would end. However, the further I progressed in the field the less passion I had for it, until it eventually became obvious that I needed a change. I took a Digital Media class called ‘Web Essentials’ that convinced me to finally make the transition from Criminal Justice to Interaction Design.

I have a great passion for Interaction Design as it is extremely challenging yet equally rewarding. And it is this rewarding feeling that keeps me excited and hungry for more.

Present Goals

Aside from the most obvious goal which is to graduate with a B.S. degree in Interaction Design, I want to continually be making progress with my skill level. I find that with each course I complete, I take home with me a better understanding of UX/UI design and confidence that I am little better than I was before. I haven’t yet nor do I ever want to feel complacent with my education. I realize that it is my responsibility to keep pushing myself in each class to produce work that exceeds not only the Professor’s expectations, but my own. It is through this mindset that I have been able to sustain a 3.71 GPA in the Digital Media concentration where I hope to improve that to a 4.0 before I graduate.

Career Goals

Upon graduation, I would hope to find work with a smaller company such as a start-up or design firm where I feel I can make the biggest impact as a Junior Designer. It is here that I hope to learn the skills that can’t be taught in school. By collaborating on projects that involve real world clients, I hope to cultivate a better understanding of Product Design that will lend itself to more opportunities down the road.

Finally, I would eventually like to see myself working as a senior level Product Designer. By this time, I hope to have enough experience in the industry to confidently run my own department where my experience and knowledge can make the biggest impact. I hope to be a mentor to others like so many in this field have been to me. However, as the Design industry is constantly changing, I think the most important long term goal for me is to avoid getting comfortable. Because I know the second that happens, it will have already passed me by.

--

--

Brett Monson
Brett Monson

Currently studying in the field of Interaction/Product Design. Collaborated on projects that include web apps, web pages, and digital publications.